Does Mac OS X Support DVD-R DL?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by appleweek, Sep 14, 2005.

1. appleweek macrumors member

Hello,
    I would like to know if Mac OS X supports DVD-R DL (Dual Layer/Double Layer; aka DVD-R9) technology? I have been a longtime LiteON DVD Burner user on OS X, and I recently bought my 2nd LiteON DVDRW Drive. This latest version DVDRW Drive (SOHW-1693S) is identical to the previous revision except that it now supports 4x DVD-R DL (not to be confused with DVD+R DL). However, I was surprised that OS X recognized all the functionality of the burner except its DVD-R DL ability. Granted DVD-R DL is new, but does Apple need to add support in the OS for this new technology to be functional in burners? Are their any other programs known to support DVD-R DL on the Mac?

Regards,

2. rjphoto macrumors 6502a

rjphoto

I'm not an expert on DL but it may depend on your OS. What version are you using?

3. appleweek thread starter macrumors member

Using all latest software (10.4.2, all available updates).

I assumed that it was Apple that needs to add DVD-R DL support because of the fact that Apple's top-of-the-line PM G5 Superdrive lacks DVD-R DL support itself. A theory is that when Apple ships a Mac with an updated Superdrive that actually supports DVD-R DL is only when we'll see DVD-R DL support for third-part DVD burners included in the OS. Does this seem likely or will Apple include DVD-R DL support before that technology is included in one of its Superdrives?

4. crees! macrumors 68000

crees!

Have you tried using Toast?

5. appleweek thread starter macrumors member

Toast 6 may possibly support DVD-R DL, not sure either way. However I wanted to use the Tiger OS itself (Finder Disc Burning/Disk Utility) in order to use a uniform method in my comparison of various disc brands/kinds.

6. superbovine macrumors 68030

superbovine

drivers...get updated drivers.

7. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

Artful Dodger