Does my iMac have a Mic?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Kardashian, Apr 25, 2006.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #1
    Hey there!

    Just wondering if my iMac, spec. in sig, has a built-in Mic? And if so, where is it?

    In iChat, it does show a moving progress bar, the pref. box that shows the level of sound input through a Microphone? :confused:

    I really want to use iChat, but none of my friends use AIM.. :( Make me your friend on iChat lol... I tried using Jabber with it for MSN, but I just HATE IT!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Location:
    far away
    #2
    Make a sound on different corners of the computer (display). The closer you get, the higher the input level will be.

    Can you find the mic by that procedure? :) :)
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Sutekidane

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    #3
    It does and I believe that for your model, it's at the bottom.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #4
    Yep you have one. Every model since the G3 iMac has come with a Mic and I believe the G3 came with one as well.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #5
    I look like a Foooool!

    OK, There is definatley a Mic.. where, I don't know.

    I just sat here, talking to myself, and yes, there is a Mic - I tried making different noises, in different areas of the computer, but I can't seem to find the exact spot.

    Its amazing!

    Its SUPER responsive! I thought you would have to at least speak in a certain direction! It even picks up my voice from across the room!

    :eek: :eek: :eek: I LOVE MY iMAC MORE NOW! :eek: :eek: :eek:

    Thanksssssss!
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #6
    Fun thing to try

    Go into system preferences and turn on speakable items. This allows you to control your computer by talking to it. Now, say "Tell me a joke" and your computer will tell you a knock knock joke. The jokes are pretty lame, but it's funny to see a computer with a sense of humour!
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #7
    No way! Shuttup!

    I'm gonna try this now! :p
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #8
    The Mic in yours is on the bottom of you computer in the center of the grill where the speakers are located I believe.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #9
    I couldn't believe it the first time my computer told me a joke. It was so crazy. I left speakable items turned on for a few days to have that cool Star Trek feel to the computer, but turned it off when I realized it was pretty hit and miss and would launch the wrong application from time to time. Still really cool though, and a neat trick to show your friends.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #10
    Oh, it could do so much.. but it doesn't!

    I tried it.. and I expected great things.. but, its just, well, crappy! :(

    I tried to get it to tell me a joke, and I would get as far as ''Whos there" and it would just give me '???' and not understand a word I was saying :confused:

    So, I tried to calibrate it, and out of the phrases you have to say to correctly set it up, it would understand all but ''Tell me what to say" - so even setting it up didn't go swimmingly.

    After 15 minutes of sitting here saying ''Computer, tell me the time" or just pressing ESC and saying ''Tell me the time'' - It told me about twice.

    Sorry, its useless. I would use this feature quite a lot, and it would be brilliant, but theres too many kinks in it.

    I tried speaking slower, then i tried speeding up so it was more 'fluid', then I tried over pronouncing my T's and D's to make the words clearer, but nothing... it just doesn't work with me.. maybe its the British accent :eek:
     

Share This Page