Does the mac mini use the same ram as the macbook pro/macbook?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by jjahshik32, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
  3. thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #3
    Thanks.. so if I put in 2x2gb will it still work? I hear that it will come out to 3 GB but will run in dual mode??
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    #4
  5. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #5
    No, the chipset in the mini will utilize 3.3GB. You can put in 2x2GB for best performance.
     
  6. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #7
    CD mini will not boot with 2GB chips.

    C2D mini will see the 4GB of RAM and use 3.3GB or so.
     
  8. macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."

Share This Page