Does the MDD have an audio in port?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by raysfan81, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #1
    I'm trying to connect a microphone for garage band but I don't see an audio input on the back... :rolleyes:
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    There should be one directly to the left (ie next too) the audio Out (Speaker) port. (Im pretty sure all Apples Professional Macs come with both audio In and Out. My earlier G4 definitely has them)
     
  3. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #3
    It also has to be self-powered. Do you have a 867mhz model? I think those didn't come with it. I knew my dual 1.25 had it though.

    Best bet is to use USB audio or get a PCI audio card.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #4
    I looked at my old G4 and there was a microphone icon next to the input port and a speaker next to the output. On my MDD it has something else next to it. Looks like to arrows pointing into a cube thing. Its the Last model originally with the single 1.25ghz processor.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    Those arrows with a cube thing - thats the port you want :) - It has the same icon on my Mac Pro :)
     
  6. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #6
    That little port below the input is for the Apple powered speakers. Those are those clear acrylic globe speakers.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #7
    Yeah I know what that one is for. But to the left of the normal audio output on the back there is something else that I don't know what it is.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    If its circular then I suspect thats it, their normally right next to each other (Audio In and Out) - There definitely is a port for it, (the one that isnt apple Pro speakers or standard audio-out - thats audio in, whichever icon Apple choose to use).
     
  9. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #9
    Yes that's the audio input. Just saying below that is a smaller port and that's for the Apple powered speakers.

    It's a little square with 2 triangles on each side. That's the audio input. My G5s have that.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #10
    I plugged the mic into the other port and it isn't recognized in system prefs nor is it recoginzed in garage band. Maybe I need a new mic.
     
  11. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #11
    You need a powered mic....
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #12
    It seems odd that this computer needs a powered mic but I can use a normal one on others. Have any recommendations on good mics?
     

Share This Page