Does the new iMac support Jumbo frames?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by b0redom, May 5, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    #1
    As subject. I was pretty peeved to find out my 2010 version didn't!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    #3
    Cool, so the answer is 'probably'. :) I'd be interested to know if anyone who has one can verify.
     
  4. mpe
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #4
    At least mine doesn't:

    Code:
    imac:~ MPE$ sudo ifconfig en0 mtu 9000
    ifconfig: ioctl (set mtu): Invalid argument
     
  5. pmd
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne (Previously UK)
    #5
    Yes, the 27" does.

    Weird. My 27" 3.1GHz iMac that was delivered yesterday supports jumbo frames fine. I was quite concerned that it wouldn't because I rely on them for good performance with my NAS :)

    I set it using System Preferences -> Ethernet -> Advanced -> Ethernet -> Configure Manually.

    I've confirmed the setting by checking the output of ifconfig. It shows an mtu value of 9000.

    Paul
     

Share This Page