Does the Shuffle update playcounts?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Diatribe, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #1
    I, Mitthrawnuruodo and probably others are wondering whether the Shuffle updates the playcount.

    Some people say it does, some say it doesn't. For those who actually have a Shuffle and have tried it, does the Suffle update the playcount or does it not?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    zephead

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    in your pants
    #2
    When I had a 1st gen Shuffle, it updated the play counts. It didn't make the last played time correct though; the last played would be whatever time I updated it. I imagine the 2nd gen Shuffle would update the play counts as well, though I can't say for sure.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #3
    I've a 512MB 1G Shuffle and it sorta updates the playcount. I found that sometimes it would and sometimes it wouldn't. I tracked it down to whether or not I had modified the playlist before connecting the Shuffle. If I left the playlist alone, the playcount would update correctly, but if I modified the list, the playcount would not update.

    Thus, I trained my self to always plug the Shuffle in update the playcount. Then I would unplug the Shuffle. Modify the playlist. Then plug the Shuffle back in.

    ft
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #4
    Ah, good to know, thank you. Do you know whether it also happens when you fill it randomly?
     
  5. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #5
    I think so. If the playlist gets changed before plugging in the Shuffle, it never updated the playcount. I haven't really checked in a long time, so I don't know if an update took care of that.

    ft
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #6
    Just to make sure I undestand that correctly, whenever you change the list of songs that is on the iPod or whenever a song changes (playcount, rating, etc.) that happens to be on the Shuffle?

    So if I leave the source list alone (Shuffle) then I am fine?

    I guess I'll check it out, it is just gonna be for workouts anyway. Still I'd like the updated playcounts, would be nice.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #7
    Sorry for the ambiguity.

    By Playlist, I mean the iPod Shuffle Source List (I had forgotten the official name). So to break it down starting with a blank Shuffle. I have iTunes set to keep "Frank's iPod Shuffle" on iTuens when not plugged in.

    1. I plug in the Shuffle and the add songs.

    2. I unplug it and listen to music on the Shuffle.

    3. I plug it back in and playcounts are updated.

    If I change the source list around in between steps 2 and 3, the playcount doesn't update. And by changing, I mean rearranging, resorting, or replacing any songs in the source list. Playing a song that's also in my source list with iTunes does not affect the Shuffle playcount updating.

    I hope that clears it up a little more.

    ft
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #8

    Yeah it does. Thanks a lot. :)

    This isn't too bad, just requires some discipline about not changing before plugging in. Thanks again for the explanation.
     

Share This Page