does this exist? (Scrabble)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by derajfast, Jan 8, 2006.

  1. derajfast macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #1
    ive been on a scrabble kick lately, and the only version i can find is for classic

    does a version for os x exist? is there anywhere i can play like yahoo games against other people?
     
  2. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #2
    A search on Versiontracker for Scrabble turns up X-Words Deluxe.

    The board looks like it might be laid out slightly different from the original game, but there's an editor in there to tweak the squares.

    You'll want to add Versiontracker and MacUpdate to your bookmarks, they're very handy.
     
  3. thedude110 macrumors 68020

    thedude110

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    #3
    word games at yahoo -- choose Litearti. Not Scrabble, but Scrabble by any other name ...

    A quick wikipedia search for "Scrabble" also turns up these 15 online/computer based links ...
     
  4. A. Hutch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
  5. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #5
    that looks good.....but is there a way i can play my sister over the computer since im at college now?

    id love to play her
     
  6. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #6
    I also have the OS X scrabble game and it works well on any high end G3 or G4 or better.

    There is a network function in the game but I have never tried it.
     
  7. dkozi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Location:
    calgary, ab
    #7
    the game does have a network function and should work through the web - it works within my own home network - it is ip based. the only major hick-up might be if one/both of you are behind routers. you may need to open/forward the ports in your advanced router settings. the respective port number is - 23301.
    if not behind a router, but have the built in firewall protection on, you'll have to do the same thing in the 'sharing' control panel, by going to the firewall tab and adding a new 'service' to the list.
    otherwise, enjoy!
     

Share This Page