Does Tiger include Internet Explorer

Discussion in 'macOS' started by OldManJimbo, Sep 19, 2005.

  1. OldManJimbo macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #1
    Dumb question - I know. My duaghter is at college with a new iBook. She has one website that won't work with Safari (one of the very few) and she SAYS she can't find Internet Explorer in the Applications folder, nor with Spotlight.

    I'm a cheap bastard and haven't moved past 10.3.9 - so I don't know if IE is supposed to be there are not. It's in my Panther applications folder.

    I know - I know - she could download Firefox or something, but I guess we're just curious about the IE thing.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. NicP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #2
    Internet explorer does not come with OSX, it can be downloaded off the microsoft website somewhere (i assume) but it hasnt been updated in a long time and most people would recommend against using it
     
  3. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #3
    Yes, Apple stopped shipping MSIE after Safari became a released product. It's free and there's no harm in trying it for yourself to come to your own conclusions, so grab it here and give it a spin.
     
  4. andysmith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Location:
    West Mids, UK
    #4
    Bear in mind that IE Mac is nothing like IE for windows, in terms of compatibility with (badly designed) web pages - the chances are it'll look even more messed up in it.
     
  5. YS2003 macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #5
    IE for Mac has not been updated for quite a while. My 15" PB's restore CD came with MS IE. I feel IE for Mac is very coarse and lacks refinement compared to Safari and Firefox.
     
  6. Jo-Kun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Antwerp-Belgium
    #6
    MS stopped development on IE for mac since Apple released Safari...
    but indeed sometimes Safari doesn't work... My telephone company has an online service to track my bills... so I can see what to expect to be billed for later on (sometimes quite convenient when I made a lot of international calls...) and it only works with Netscape & IE (haven't installed Firefox so don't know about that) Safari only causes errors with those pages...
     
  7. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #7
    No, Tiger doesn't have any viruses.
     
  8. rosalindavenue macrumors 6502a

    rosalindavenue

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #8
    I was adding a radio to my XM account; their horrible online subscription page did not work in Safari or Firefox; so I went to microsoft's page and grabbed IE; it actually worked and allowed me to change my subscription. Of course, once this was accomplished I trashed IE.
     
  9. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #9
    Some things still only work with IE, like my Wachovia Bill Pay (although I think Opera works there now). I keep IE only for that purpose, but I am glad it works.

    Woof, Woof – Dawg [​IMG]
     
  10. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #10
    Yar, if ye' be wantin' t' get t' sites that require somethin' by that bilge rat Billy Gates, ye can try the Safari debug menu.

    Ye best be startin' by typing th' folowin into Terminal when Safari be not runnin':

    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.Safari IncludeDebugMenu 1
    Then, once Safari be started again, ye can use the Debug menu t'select User Agent->MSIE6.0.

    Works more oft'n than it don't.
     
  11. OldManJimbo thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #11
    From the OP

    So - is this a fault of Safari or the web developers?

    I'd love to do without IE altogether but there's on key page on the American Airlines web that won't work in Safari. I've spoken to AA about it and they place the blame on Safari - I think I disagree.
     
  12. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #12
    Gar, I used me plundered pieces o' eight to buy me mum a ticket off the AA site just three days afore now. I be fond o' usin' it for me frequent pirating miles as well.

    Have ye a URL for th' offendin' part? Safari be workin' for me.
     
  13. OldManJimbo thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #13
    Aye matey - the bloomin' thang will wark sum o' the tyme - but not always. I'm wanting to make 'im walk-the-plank.

    Geez - I can't keep that up. I've sent the "offending page" to Safari a number of times over the last 6 months.
     
  14. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #14

    some parts of the AA site work with Safari, some don't......I stopped using Safari there and have been using Firefox which seems to work ok

    I've had Safari trouble with the multi-city reservations, going back and forth to the seating charts and various other things
     
  15. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #15
    Yar, many thanks to ye. I be testin' it meself tonight. Now I be at me day job.
     
  16. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #16
    yar matey.....an sometimes yar be searchin a fine and fair grand price goin all back and forth like ya be tackinn f'ore a raw fickle scallywag of a blow an thar ya finally be up with a gran swag of a fare an yar be set to lay down yar fair plundered piece's o' eight and yar be clickin on "purchase" ..........arg matey!!! the scurvvy sonsa of biscuit eaters all simpley goes to davy jones own locker n wont be lettin yar purchase naught.........arrrghh
     
  17. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #17
    this pirate thing is creeping me out. having said that,

    I would recommend downloading Firefox because that has updates unlike IE.
    You can get IE for Mac's on Microsofts website as posted above.

    I still love Safarie but I do keep IE around for those websites that dont work
     
  18. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #18
    Safari 2 kicks butt. I don't see any reason to use IE or even firefox.

    I don't care about new themes or extensions, as long as safari is faster and more bug-free than any of the other browsers.
     
  19. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #19
    :D
    "Reply of the month"
     

Share This Page