Does upgrade to Panther mean I'll have to reinstall everything?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by amin, Sep 21, 2003.

  1. amin macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    When I upgrade to Panther will it wipe out my documents, installed apps, etc?
     
  2. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #2
    It's hard to say. My personal inclination would be to start from scratch anyway so that there's no old junk config files lying around. I'd be surprised if there was no 'upgrade' option but I'd still prefer a clean install.
     
  3. amin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    I'm pretty lazy and would not like to do a fresh install. Anyone know if the betas released so far have such an 'upgrade' option?
     
  4. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #4
    There will be an upgrade option. Trust me.

    In fact, I have one copy of Panther, and yes, it has the upgrade option.



    irmongoose
     
  5. powerbookje macrumors member

    powerbookje

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Location:
    Belgium
    #5
    clean install is the way to go for a "." upgrade (10.2 , 10.3).
     
  6. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #6
    I'll do a clean install just so I can get that HFS+ Journaled/Case Sensitive filesystem feature.
     
  7. amin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    thanks irmongoose,

    it's nice to know we will have the option. choice is good.
     
  8. baby duck monge macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #8
    choice may be good, but the fastest possible system with the least amount of potential for clutter is better. clean install all the way.
     
  9. Coca-Cola macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    WA
    #9
    me, me, me

    Well, everytime, Every single time I post something here I feel like I am making vanity posts. So.....
    Here it is let me tell you about my experience.
    I installed Jaguar as an upgrade to OS 9. I was amazed that it worked so well. Easy to install something that I would think is very difficult. There was a problem though in that my HD is very small and having two OS hogs it all.
    Something bad happened, I had to erase my HD after a year of steady use of OS X. I haven't used OS 9 for about that long too. So when I did a fresh install of OS X on my drive. I didn't install OS 9. I saved a lot of room on my hard drive and picked up some performance. :p
    So, the answer to your question. If it is possible, do a fresh install on your erased HD. But I am sure that a upgrade will be available, and it will work very well. I personally will be doing the upgrade. I won't be erasing my HD unless something really messes me up.
    WHAT WENT WRONG-
    note, I had two seperate users on my hard drive. My side took up too much space and the OS wouldn't open up the other users side. So, I thought making the side that wouldn't open up the default log in user would open up the blocked side. Opps. I couldn't get into either side. Locked out! Damn. I had to either do some heavy terminal trickery or erase and install. It took all weekend to get back up to speed. Hello, lost shareware registration emailing.
     

Share This Page