Dolby Digital Encoding

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by e²Studios, Jan 16, 2006.

  1. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #1
    Is there any way via plug-in or anything to get get FCE to encode audio in Dolby Digital? I believe this is possible in FCP, but i am looking for a way to do it in FCE or iDVD if needed.

    Thanks
    Ed
     
  2. sigamy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Location:
    NJ USA
    #2
    I haven't looked into this in over a year but I'm pretty sure that iDVD does not support DD 5.1. You'd need to move up to DVD SP. I believe that FCE also does not support 5.1.

    I've been hoping for each new version of iMovie to add a simple surround sound editor--not full 5.1--but at least ProLogic. Pinnacle Studio has had this for a few years.

    It seemed strange to me that Apple added HD to iMovie and iDVD before adding 5.1 support. I'd bet that more people have 5.1 setups than HD sets.
     
  3. Poeben macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    #3
    Your best option is to get DVD studio pro. It includes A.Pack, an AC-3 encoder.

    Next option is to send the files out to somewhere that can do this type of production as without DVDSP you cannot make the DVD afaik.

    If you really want AC-3 files and you love OS 9, there was a plugin for protools by Universal Audio, Smartcode Pro I believe, that you can still find online. This assumes that you can run protools under OS 9.

    Yet another thing to check out is Minnetonka Audio. They make encoding software for a variety of formats, including AC-3 and DTS.
     
  4. e²Studios thread starter macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #4
    Do they sell DVD Studio pro standalone? When i looked on Apple's website it looked like it was only included with Final Cut Studio Pro which is way out of my price range.

    What about using Toast Titanium, i believe it says it has a DD encoder for DVD's. I dont need it to be 5.1 DD, even 2 channel DD is fine by me, just anything other than PCM that seems to drive my HK amp nuts in trying to decide what mode to place it on (usually settles with Neo 6 or Dolby PLIIx).

    Ed
     
  5. Poeben macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    #5
    I didn't see it on apple's site either. I believe they do sell it standalone, however. At the very least macmall.com sells it standalone for $500. If there is an apple store in your area check with them, as last time I was at one I remember seeing it. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be an affordable and reliable option for AC-3 encoding. You might want to take a look at ffmpeg though it seems to have some compatibility issues.
     
  6. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    Apple only sells the suite now. You can still probably find DVD SP at Mac retailers (while supplies last) or on eBay.


    Lethal
     
  7. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #7
    You can even try finding copies of DVD SP 1.5 or 2.0. It has a capable AC-3 encoder, but runs under OS9, I believe. I haven't run across a dedicated AC3 encoder, probably because it requires a license from Dolby.

    Here's to the Crazy Ones [​IMG]
     
  8. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    I dont know if its still available, but i upgraded from FCE to FCP4 then to FCStudio.
     
  9. RAS admin macrumors regular

    RAS admin

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Location:
    Berkshires, Mass.
    #9
    Actually the newest version of DVD Studio Pro doesn't use A.Pack for encoding anymore. It is built into the app. The newest version of Toast Titanium does have a Dolby Digital encoder though.
     
  10. e²Studios thread starter macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #10

    So i could edit in FCE, then use Toast instead of iDVD? It makes no sense to me why they dont even have a add-on for DD, most major products on the windows side do. Hell i would be willing to pay extra for a iDVD plug-in if they didnt want it to raise their iLife base price.

    Ed
     
  11. RAS admin macrumors regular

    RAS admin

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Location:
    Berkshires, Mass.
    #11
    Yes, I think that will work. I looked in the "Video" tab of Toast Titanium 7 and clicked on "DVD-Video". Under "Options" click on the "More" button. Then go to the "Encoding" tab and click on "Custom" button. In the "Audio" section you will see "Audio Format" and "Data Rate" settings...
     
  12. e²Studios thread starter macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #12
    Ok, i just ordered a copy of Toast 7 however i think their menus look hideous in comparison to iDVD's base menu selections. Can i make a custom one with motion/animation/movie clips, arrange buttons, etc.

    OR

    better yet.. Can i make the DVD menus in iDVD and export it then open it in Toast and get the DD i want with the nice iDVD menus? I know iDVD has a feature to export the whole DVD and just not burn it to disc. In other words i would compose it all in iDVD export it then import it in to Roxio for mastering? Or would i have to make custom Roxio templates that i liked and just not use iDVD?

    Ed
     
  13. RAS admin macrumors regular

    RAS admin

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Location:
    Berkshires, Mass.
    #13
    I don't think you can export a layer-based menu from iDVD for use with Toast. I control-clicked on the Toast icon and selected "show package contents". Inside of the contents folder I opened up "Resources" and there is a folder called "Toast DVD Menu Styles" with 10 different Photoshop .psd files.

    You could open one of these .psd files in Photoshop and change some things to your liking. I would only make some slight changes, i.e. changing the background. Just don't mess with the layers.

    Also, I think Roxio sells bundles of DVD menu themes, but I haven't checked them out. I make my own Photoshop menus for use in DVD Studio Pro.
     
  14. e²Studios thread starter macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #14

    I meant can i make the DVD using the iDVD menus then export the files including the video and then let Toast re-encode it, the only thing i really want from it is the DD encoding.

    Ed
     
  15. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #15
    One point to make here is that Windows programs in question and most likely Toast have a DD Encoder that is limited to DD 2.0 (stereo) and does not support 5.1 (surround). This should absolutely be standard as PCM takes up way too much space on a single layer DVD+/-R. It's even standard in most hardware DVD burners and camcorders.

    B
     
  16. e²Studios thread starter macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #16
    All i want is 2.0 DD to be honest.

    I am wondering if you all think this would work. Edit in FC, use iDVD to make menus and connect all my chapter markers. Then make iDVD export the DVD to a folder and not a DVD. Take that Video TS folder (i think this is what it makes) and load in to Roxio for burning. My only question on this would be if Roxio would keep the PCM audio encoding or re-encode using DD...

    Ed
     

Share This Page