Don't Laugh

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by TEST4ECHO, Nov 19, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #1
    Ok you can laugh since I do. I recently took over a job at my company that required I now how to use Mac/Apple computers. I know nothing about them. Fortunate for me it my job is to repalce the few Macs we have. My problem is the oldest of our computer that ran an outdated machine that I am currently building a PC replacement for, uses an apple 2e. It has a 5 1/4 floppy drive. I need to move the data from it's stored 5 1/2 in disk a 3 1/4 in order to move it to the current Mac. Then later to data storage on a PC.

    So my question. I have found several Apple 5 1/2 in external drives on e-bay, but none of my apples have 3 ¼ drives but my Macs do. So is an Apple drive compatible with a MAC computer?

    Jeff
     
  2. emw
    macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #2
    HAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Sorry, had to get that out. You have old Apple //e computers THAT YOU STILL USE?! Wow! Who knows, those might even be worth something.

    I don't know that you can use a disk written on a //e with a Mac, but it's worth a try. It will probably work.

    Otherwise, you can download an Apple emulator for the PC. Never used it, can't vouch for it's effectiveness, but may be worth it to transfer data.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #3
    aren't the disks 5 1/4 , 3 1/2 ? :eek:
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    :: sfbay.ca :: All bay, all day.
    #4
    And why are you replacing the Macs with PCs?? ;)

    Apple II-series hardware is basically incompatible with Macs, even old ones.

    But don't worry. Your task isn't impossible. You'll need to spend a little bit of money, though, on some old hardware, namely a 3 1/2" drive (and maybe a controller card) for your IIe, and possibly an older Mac with a floppy drive to read the data. Once it's on even a System 7-era Mac, you can re-write the data to new floppies and use a USB floppy drive to move the flies over, or network the old Mac and move them off that way.

    Do you know if the files are stored in Dos 3.3 or ProDOS format? I'm pretty sure ProDOS disks at least were readable at least through Mac OS 8 or 9, and I'm not sure about X. 3.3 I'm less sure about, but maybe someone can chime in.

    I'd presume less than $500 in hardware will give you a workable solution to your problem. If there's valuable data there, it will be well worth it.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    :: sfbay.ca :: All bay, all day.
    #5
  6. macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    Aww man, I was going to rag on him for that one.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    #7
    I'll never understand why companies do this. We replaced all of our dumb terminals with P4 PCs at the last job I had, and while the dumb terminals NEVER crashed the PCs go down weekly.

    If it ain't broke...
     
  8. *Y*
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    VA
    #8
    ______________________don't try to fix it!! :cool:
     

Share This Page