doom 3 question....

Discussion in 'Games' started by jaykub, Aug 19, 2004.

1. jaykub macrumors newbie

ok, I'm new to mac (just got my 1st about a month ago) and I hear that doom 3 is just sick but its not out for mac yet, and theres all this debate about whether it will run right on older systems, etc....well my question is this.... my mac is a dual 1.8 G5, a gig of ram, 80 gig harddrive, and a "geforce fx 5200" so will I be able to run doom3 when it is available for mac? or will i have to buy a bunch of upgrades?

also, what are some really good/intense FPS for the mac? (excuse my ignorance, I know this post reeks of nOOb)

2. NusuniAdmin macrumors 6502a

NusuniAdmin

that g5 will run fine on that.

Some people say it will require a g5 but i have heard from the mouths of some ID testers themselves (a few of my friends) it will minimally run on a 2*1.25 ghz g4 with 64 meg video card and 512 meg ram. But thats just wut ive heard.

[edit: i have just chatted with one of them and he said its a dual 1.25 not single!]

3. Converted2Truth macrumors 6502a

Converted2Truth

Doom3 will come to the mac. When? ...probably before the end of the year.

You're gonna need a faster video card. The 5200 sucks ash. I'd recommend one of three options. 1) buy an ATI 9800 Pro SE mac edition. it's a good card, and you'll play doom3 at a decent res with decent settings. 2) Wait for ATI to release the X800 for the mac -who knows when though... 3) Fork out 600 bucks for the nvidia 6800 Ultra. nobody has tested this yet... and nobody really knows how well it works... but it is known that it runs everything fast enough.

If you are sticking to your stock config, doom3 will suck... maybe even been unplayable. If you are looking for current games that will run on your system, i'd go get Medal of Honor: Allied Assult... the multiplay is awesome. Call of duty is lots of fun too... better than MOHAA, but i don't know if your card will run this game as well...