Doom3 Choppy as Hell on 2.0 ghz power mac with 9800 pro

Discussion in 'Games' started by PowermacG5, May 17, 2005.

  1. PowermacG5 macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #1
    What happend? This game is so choppy its not even fun!!!!!!!!!!
    :mad:

    My settings are as follows:

    Overall setting at: Low Quality
    res: 1280 by 1024

    Adcanced Option

    high quality special effects: no
    shadows: no
    bump maps yes

    PLEASE TELL ME THERE IS A WORK BUTTON!! Ohhh god i couldnt even afford this game!!!!!
     
  2. Abulia macrumors 68000

    Abulia

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Kushiel's Scion
    #2
    2.9 GHz?? OMG!!! 3.0 GHz is almost here!!!!

    :D



    (I'd guess video card. 9800 isn't the performer that it used to be.)
     
  3. keysersoze macrumors 68000

    keysersoze

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NH
    #3
    1. Use CHUD tools and disable one of your processors. Apparently D3 runs better without dual processors. Sucks, I know.

    2. Also, there is a link I think at Barefeats that shows the best configurations for D3 for Mac. You should get 30+ FPS. Choppy= bad FPS.

    3. I don't think it's your Radeon card... do you have ATi Displays 4.x installed? It will override your settings in the game. If not, download ATi Displays software from the ATi site and make your settings (where you can configure different games) to 'balanced.' It may help... I don't have the game to test it out.
     
  4. JRM PowerPod macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Location:
    Outback Australia
    #4
    How come he gets a 2.9GHZ and no one else gets one? ;) :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

    I know you mean a 2GHZ but i had to comment on it.
     
  5. cc bcc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Location:
    nl
    #5
    How come people post without reading!?!?

    ;)
     
  6. PowermacG5 thread starter macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #6
    hhaha i wondered what people were talking about.. didnt even notices sliped with the 9.. i bet that get alot more people to look at my thread.... hahaha
     
  7. PowermacG5 thread starter macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #7
    downloading ati displays for 10.4 what is this CHUD tool?
     
  8. keysersoze macrumors 68000

    keysersoze

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NH
    #8
    HEre's a thread on Doom 3 performance issues:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=117388&highlight=Doom+CHUD

    If it doesn't work, just use the Search function and search for "Doom CHUD"

    I've never played with it, but I think it involves downloading Developer software from Apple. I think the thread explains better than I can!
    :)
     
  9. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #9
    Well, that's not right...I have a dual 2.5 with an X800, which is faster sure but I have all settings maxed (shadows on etc.), maybe a tad lower resolution. It's only choppy when loading new areas every so often, and that only lasts a second....

    --Eric
     

Share This Page