Doom3 min spec offers clue to Powerbook G5?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by will, Nov 5, 2004.

  1. will macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    #1
    This is a highly speculative thought, but, have you noticed how the required spec for Doom3 http://www.aspyr.com/games.php/mac/d3/ says 1.5GHz G5. Apple have never shipped a machine with a 1.5GHz G5, is this an indication a Powerbook G5 is coming before release of Doom 3 (some time in Q1 2005), or is it just a typo?
     
  2. crap freakboy macrumors 6502a

    crap freakboy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    nar in Gainsborough, me duck
    #2
    Yeah I thought that as well, so where is that 1.5 G5 in Apples line-up?
    Mmmmm...cant really see the eMac going 1.5, but who knows what Apple plan to do. A G5 PB would be nice(obviously). Not surprised the minimum requirements are so high, which means I'll have to save even harder for a 2.5 G5. **sigh** :(
     
  3. Diatribe macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #3
    Why would Aspyr know what Apple's linup will be? Highly unlikely.
     
  4. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #4
    The 1.5 ghz is saying to 1.6GHZ imacs owners that they are well over the system reqs.. (even if it will run 15fps@800x600... :p)

    There isn't G5s with radeon 8500 or geforce 3 cards either..
    32 mb VRAM is also minimum..

    We will probably have eMacs/pbooks/ibooks with 1.5 ghz G5,
    we can probably/maybe have old G4 towers upgraded to G5s (some of them might happend to have a Geforce 3 or Raden 8500 card...)

    So this boils down to:

    1. Jan, 2005: Apple releases eMac Doom3™ special edition.
    Specs: G5 1.5ghz, Radeon 8500 32mb RAM, 384 MB ram.

    Press release:
    The eMac "Doom 3 edition" ships combat-ready with advanced graphics processing capability, thanks to the ATI Radeon 8500 graphics processor with 32MB of SDRAM. Kicking your games and 3D graphics into high gear with hardware transform and lighting (T&L) and drop-dead gorgeous effects at high resolutions, the ATI 8500 Radeon takes over the transform and lighting calculation functions from the eMac CPU — and delivers standout gaming experience.

    The sizzling graphics processor and next-generation high-bandwidth architecture kicks 3D games and graphics into high gear, with three times the frame rate as the previous eMac in Unreal Tournament 2004. ATI graphics provides hardware transform and lighting (T&L) and drop-dead gorgeous effects at high resolutions. The new eMac runs Doom 3 with ease and sets the standard for the next generation of "Macs-made-for-gaming™"
     
  5. darkwing macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #5
    Maybe it's possible they meant G4? I don't see why the game can run on a 1.5 ghz p4 but not a 1.5 ghz g4. Aspyr is a crappy company anyway. The games they put out always have less than par performance on my Rev C 17" pb. If quake 3 can get over 100 fps, then games like Sim City 4 should at least do better than the .2 it spends most of its time at.

    I don't think they have a single software engineer there who knows anything at all about efficient code.

    Steve
     
  6. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #6
    Is it just me or that PB owners always bloody moaning? ;)
     
  7. brap macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #7
    Heh.

    Well, I'll continue the trend; the G5's relative inefficiency at 1.5GHz wouldn't make it worth my while upgrading! - I'm sure Doom 3 will, if not 64-bit optimised (as if), at least run on a 17" PB with that lovely video card. It's better than the stock G5, ffs!

    Actually, that wasn't a moan. Are ya proud?
     
  8. darkwing macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #8
    I would moan except I've given up on any and all Mac gaming. I have a PS2 and a GameCube for that. ;)

    We all know you don't buy a Mac if you want games. Nobody puts the effort into making efficient code for them like they do on the PCs. Maybe auto-vectorization on Tiger's XCode tools will help things.

    Steve
     
  9. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #9
    Aspyr is one of the few companies which still ports games for macs.
    Don't bite the hand thats feeding you..
     

Share This Page