Doubt in creating appid

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by iphonejudy, Jan 9, 2009.

  1. iphonejudy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    iphonejudy

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a doubt in creating appid.when we are creating appid we need to give com.companyname.appname know.my question is

    1) Whether the domain name should be a exist one or it can be a new one?


    Thanks
    judy
     
  2. jnic
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    Cambridge
    #2
    The format is fairly free-form; it needn't be a domain name at all.
     
  3. Luke Redpath
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK
    #3
    Just create a wildcard app id then use whatever you like in your projects settings (as long as it uses reverse domain name conventions).
     
  4. iphonejudy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    iphonejudy

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #4
    Hi,


    If i use a existing domain name.then what will happen?


    Thanks
    judy
     
  5. jnic
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    Cambridge
    #5
    It's an internal app version name, so nothing. Seems rather pointless naming after a domain you don't own though...
     
  6. iphonejudy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    iphonejudy

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008

Share This Page