Downgrade to Lion?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by zachnelson, May 22, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #1
    Running Mountain Lion here, I have purchased Lion through the mac app store previously. Best way to downgrade to Lion?

    It wont me download Lion because I'm running Mountain Lion.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #3
    I appreciate your help, but this obviously isn't a viable option, if you fully read my post that is:

    I can't download Lion from the Mac App Store.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Do you know using Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard or Mac OS X 10.7 Lion? That way you could use that computer using your account credentials to download Mac OS X 10.7 Lion again and doing the following: Make An OS X Lion Boot Disc
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #5
    Unfortunately I screwed myself over on overwriting my install of 10.7 with 10.8 No other macs and no other non 10.8 installs.

    Am I really stuck with going all the way back through 10.6 to get this back to 10.7? Ughh.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    I forgot a word in my second reply, "someone", thus it should have said "Do you know someone using Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard or Mac OS X 10.7 Lion?".
    But if you don't using Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard first is the only way.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #7
    Ahh I see I'll have to look around. This is silly.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #8
    I'm sure you've heard about some of those websites. Go to one and download yourself a copy of Lion > burn it to a DVD > create a new partition in Disk Utility > boot to the install DVD > install Lion on the new partition.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #9
    Is the Lion install you get from those websites tied to a specific mac app store account? Like, if I were to download Lion legit from the MAS, is it tied to my account in any way?
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    You should be able to find the ESD image that doesn't have account details tied to it.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #11
    May I ask why you are downgrading to Lion?

    I am on ML DP3 (12A206j) and I have to tell you, both my desktop and laptop are running like champs.

    In fact, I find ML a huge improvement over Lion just in overall speed.

    I have at least 3 dozen applications in my dock and I don't think I am having a problem with any one of them not properly working.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #12
    Two things over the past days have happened and trying to figure out of its ML or my hardware. I have a thread open in the MBP forum.

    My computer literally turned off this morning and wouldn't turn back on for several minutes. the battery was at ~50%. the battery indicator lights wouldnt even turn on. :/
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #13
    Hmmm.

    I am on a 2009 MBP and Mountain Lion is working beautifully.

    I didn't even partitian my drive. I am running it as a straight-out OS.

    I'm not so certain that ML is the problem here, but then again, I don't know what version you are using and how old your MBP is.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #14
    13" 2010

    I'm not running the latest version, I think DP 1 or 2.
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #15
    Uhm, yeah, DP1 not good. DP2 maybe.

    Those versions are a lot more buggier than DP3.

    Thing is, I don't think you can do a software update from the App Store on DP1 or DP2. I could be wrong about that.

    And with your Mac not even turning on, I don't think it would matter anyway.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #16
    It's on now, it figured it's **** out after a few minutes. Anyway downloading Lion from a great source.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #17
    ML DP3 -> ML Customer Version

    Hi all,

    I am running ML DP3 as my main OS on my :apple: 2010 MB Air, and it is as smooth as can be! not a single problem - plus it is getting constantly update via. the app store; very impressive.

    However, I read somewhere that it is impossible to upgrade from ML DP3 to the retail version... you must be running Lion. Any ideas on this??

    i really want to have my computer ready for the next OS retail version, but I'm not sure how to get back to Lion easily!
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #18
    I have actually read differently on this forum.

    You can indeed upgrade from Mountain Lion DP to the final version.

    However, I am interested in getting the definitive word.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #19
  20. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #20
    Thing is, we heard the same thing during the DP release of Snow Leopard.

    We indeed were able to upgrade from DP to final.

    However, that's not to say that this time they mean it.

    Here is a thread that has multiple opinions on the subject:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1365130
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #21
    Ah, I see. I have faith that this is the case again this year... but if I was to purchase Mountain Lion from the App Store, would it still install or not?
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #22
    Richard,

    I don't know if anyone outside of Apple could answer that question.

    On the one hand, I would think developers would get the final Gold Master from Apple (as they did with Snow Leopard) which could be installed over the DP.

    On the other hand, Apple may have absolutely changed things up this time around and there will be no means of installing the final release over the DP.

    After all, Apple has it in writing that it can't be done, as you pointed out.

    All we have to rely on is that we were able to do it with Snow Leopard.

    Best bet? Do as I did. Have a copy of your Lion system backed up on an external drive just in case.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #23
    you are completely right, but due to a hastily poor decision from me, I am almost certain all my backups are now 10.8 (i know, rookie error).

    so, I'm thinking I wait until 10.8 is released, see if it is possible; if not - I'll format my HD and reinstall lion - using a version on one of my friend's laptop (via recovery usb).

    Do you think this is the best plan of action? Thanks for the help, too.

    ps., is there a way of checking what OS a backup is of? I may indeed have a Time Capsule backup of 10.7, but im not sure...
     
  24. Bear, Jun 9, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2012

    macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #24
    How can anyone know the upgrade is posisble when Apple has said it won't be possible and the released version of Mountain Lion isn't available to try.

    At this point the best answer is "Maybe. Apple said no, but for previous OS releases, it has worked. We'll know when Mountain Lion is released and available."


    One way is by the date of course. Was the backup from before Mountain Lion DPs were available.

    Another way is to check the backup for an application or file that Mountain Lion has that wasn't in Lion. Notification Center files? Messages?
     
  25. richardheath94, Jun 9, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2012

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #25
    Haha very true. but, isn't this site all about speculation? :D

    also, thanks bear, i will try that.
     

Share This Page