Downgrading to 10.2.8

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Stojamow, Dec 1, 2003.

  1. Stojamow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #1
    As a question of stability of the programs I run I have to downgrade my machine to work under the Jaguar.

    This is because the new PB comes with 10.3

    Any advise before I do it?
     
  2. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

    johnnyjibbs

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    To downgrade to Jaguar, you would have to do a clean install. But you will not have the Jaguar discs (as your computer comes with Panther) so you will either have to purchase Jaguar (stupid idea, and that's if you find it, although Amazon.co.uk is still offering Jaguar for the same price as Panther!!!) or get it from someone you know. That would be a grey area legally but since you own the licesnse for Panther, Apple will probably not care.

    Do you really want to downgrade? I've heard of some problems with 10.3 but I'm still waiting for the upgrade! I'm sure 3.2 or 3.3 will provide most of the fixes you need.
     
  3. XnavxeMiyyep macrumors 65816

    XnavxeMiyyep

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    #3
    Use activity monitor. Maybe you can find the source of your problem.
     
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    Just a Guess...

    Most likely you'd have to find a PowerBook user with a Jaguar 10.2.8 recovery disk and do a complete install.

    Most likely the Jaguar disks on the shelf are of a vintage older than the software needed to boot your machine.

    And most every machine that came out after the Jaguar OS Box already included Jaguar or a newer OS.

    Sometimes the firmware is looking for an OS newer than version 10.x.x -- or was it the boot blocks and PRAM. So there are times when you might try to boot from a CD and it'll ask for an OS newer than 10.x.x
     
  5. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

    johnnyjibbs

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Good point. My PowerBook can't boot in any less than 10.2.7 (what it came with). Therefore, Apple will probably have made the new PowerBooks (with panther preinstalled) only boot in 10.3 or later
     
  6. Stojamow thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Stupid me...

    Why I ever switched to Mac....

    With Windows I would simply install the program and run. It might not be as stable as OSX but it would do what I want...
     
  7. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Why don't you just update your applications? If you prefer Windows with its many stability problems to MacOS X 10.3.1 with its few, then....
     
  8. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    Re: Downgrading to 10.2.8

    Which programs and what are they doing? Give us some details and we can probably help you run them in Panther.

    Once my car wouldn't start so I replaced the fuel pump. Then I realized it was just out of gas. You might be in a similar situation here.
     
  9. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

    johnnyjibbs

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    On a related note an Apple package has just arrived at my home. Mum's going to send it up. It *MUST* be Panther as I applied via post to the up-to-date promotion with the admission that I didn't really fit the category (i.e. bought before 8 Oct) but others in my position had been accepted on the web.

    The length of time I've waited for a reply is a signal that it must be that (bloody Apple UK!)

    Hopefully I won't have second thoughts about installing Panther on my machine...! (But I guess I have 10.2.8 to fall back on).
     
  10. Stojamow thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #10
    AVID EXPRESS DV 3.5 Base

    I could upgrade to Pro and wait until they release a support for Panther but....

    On the other hand - as they still sell the DV 3.5 there must be an upgrade coming out that supports Panther. (that's the common sense)

    Click here for details

    The funny thing is that the MANUAL says:

    1) I must have G4 400Mhz or faster

    2) I must have 10.1.4 or later

    3) The classic system folder must be present

    The WEBSITE says:

    1) I must have G4 667Mhz or faster

    2) I must have OS X 10.2.4, 10.2.6 or 10.2.8 (Mac OS X 10.3 not supported at this time)


    ...which means that whether the manual or Avid website is not correct...

    -----

    I think the easiest way is to buy Jaguar, downgrade & keep editing...
     
  11. Stojamow thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #11
    Seems to me that the problem is solved.

    Avid states on their webpage that the 10.2.8 is available directly from Apple itself.

    Good :)
     

Share This Page