Download iPhoto on Brand New Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by drsox, May 23, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #1
    I'm setting up a brand new Mac Mini for someone. How do I access iPhoto for this new person on this new Mini ? She has an Apple ID and an iCloud account.

    How do I get the App Store to recognise that she should get a free copy of iPhoto etc as part of the new unit ? The App Store says that her Apple ID had no purchases.

    Cheers.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    #2
    did you install from recovery drive ? there should be an additional installs there.

    admittedly I haven't tried, it was associated to my Apple-ID
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #3
    No, brand new = brand new, just arrived from Amazon with nothing on it.

    I did find a temporary fix for this by copying across Apps from my setup on another Mac via AirDrop, but the problem still remains that she should be able to access her own copies of these Apps to go with her own copy of ML.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #4
    Upon first boot, you will go through setup. After setup, you can open Mac App Store and it will ask you to sign in and automatically add iLife apps to your account. If it arrived with a totally blank hard drive with no OS or anything, then it is not brand new, at least not factory brand new.
     
  5. drsox, May 23, 2013
    Last edited: May 25, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #6
    OK, how do I go through setup again ?
    Do I have to register the unit in her name somewhere ?
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    #7
  8. macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #8
    AFAIK, the "initial" setup is a one time process. If you didn't assign that unit's copy/license of the iLife app suite to an Apple ID, you can't really go back and do it again. If you go to an Apple Store or speak with Apple Support, I'm sure they keep a record of whether or not that unit's copy of iLife app suite has been registered to an Apple ID or not. If the latter, I'm sure they will guide you through the process so you can download it from the Mac App Store under that Apple ID.
     

Share This Page