Downloading Apple stuff via a PC

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by timmyb, May 11, 2005.

  1. timmyb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    I will be getting an iBook as soon as the next rev comes but have come across a problem. Unfortunatley my ISP (Tiscali) does not support Macs and I am contracted to them until august. I thought this meant that I would have to wait until I was in London (I get up there avery 2 months or so) to be able to download software updates, widgets etc, (I assume thst you are allowed to do this in the Apple store.) However I have just had an idea of how to get round the problem but as someone who has used a PC for all my life, (17 years,) I have no idea if it is plausible. Can I use my PC at home to download what I want directly on to a USB key and then plug that in to my iBook and load it up, or is this not possible?
     
  2. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #2
    Just because they don't support Mac's doesn't mean it won't work. I have friends with Mac's that do dial up, DSL and Cable. Not sure what Tiscali offers, but I would bet you'll be fine with your new iBook :)
     
  3. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #3
    Are you using their broadband services? You shouldn't have a problem connecting, I think what they're referring to is if you have any problems using your Mac with their service, they won't support you. I can't see how they would completely block Macs from their network, because a Mac is still a computer.
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    I'm pretty sure Blue Velvet uses Tiscali for a broadband ISP on a Mac with no problem, they may claim not to support it, but it'll probably work.
     
  5. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #5

    You know me so well... :)

    I have a 2gb Tiscali capped service that suits me just fine. Contrary to many people's experiences, I'm using the supplied Sagem USB modem with no problems at all. There were OSX drivers on the CD and up on the website.

    And yes, you can download .dmg, .sit and other files fine on the PC and put them on a key to take home. I do this all the time at work.
     
  6. aloofman macrumors 68020

    aloofman

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Location:
    Socal
    #6
    You can indeed download the .dmg files on a PC, then copy them over. It might get goofy if you were to try to open them though.

    I don't have experience with that ISP company, but I know that my previous ISP had crappy Mac set-up software and I got around it by manually filling in all the fields in the network settings. That's really all the set-up software does: fill in those numbers for you. If you're unsure, their tech support should be able to tell you how to configure it manually.
     
  7. timmyb thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Thanks very much for all the replies
    I have the 256 connection with the Sagem modem. What would I have to do exactly, just put the CD in the iBook, follow onscreen instructions and then plug in the modem, or is something more advanced required?
     
  8. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #8

    Err... it's been a while. Put the CD in, there's a 'read me' file. I remember it being very simple...

    It also installed the Sagem ADSL monitor which runs perfectly under 10.3.8... haven't installed or tried it on my Tiger drive yet.

    You will still have to set-up the network preferences though.

    p.s. Mine is a Sagem F@ST 800 E2T
     
  9. stevep macrumors 6502a

    stevep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    I also use Tiscali. I used to use the supplied Sagem modem, but now I use a Linksys broadband router, with my iBook connected to it wirelessly and a pc connected by ethernet. It wasn't difficult to set up (especially on the iBook, which did most of the setting up itself, or so it seemed). I have an uncapped 1mBit connection.
    I don't think you have any reason to look for another ISP, either now or when your contract is up in August.
     
  10. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #10
    When I had dial-up, they told me it wasn't compatible with Macs. I asked them how it connected on Windows XP and they told me (this is the key right here):

    We give you a CD which basically creates a new network connection in the control panel and puts the information in for you.

    I knew I could do this on a PC and then just copy the info over to the Mac.

    With ethernet broadband, I don't think it's possible that it couldn't support Mac.

    Just don't believe what they say though, half the phone techs don't even know what they offer.
     

Share This Page