Drag and drop has stopped working

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dogbone, Mar 29, 2006.

  1. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #1
    But only in photoshop. I can drag a file onto the dock icon and it will open photoshop but it won't open the file. Same with double clicking, it will open photoshop but not the file.

    Other Adobe apps will open OK, I can drag a jpg to Illustrator and it will open fine.

    I've checked it against a virgin account and it is the same.

    How can I restore normal behaviour. I've done all the permission repairs and maintainence tasks.
     
  2. dogbone thread starter macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #2
    C'mon guys and gals I know someone must be able to help here.

    Please.
     
  3. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #3
    Have you done an Archive and Install?

    If so, then you need to drag the Adobe Unit Types folder from your Previous Systems folder to the appropriate place in your 'new' system. I can't recall off the top of my head where those locations are but doing a search on that file name - either here or on Adobe's site - should bring up the relevant info
     
  4. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #4
    Have you tried moving the Photshop plist file to the desktop?
     
  5. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #5
    Here you are. :)
     
  6. dogbone thread starter macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #6
    Applespider, I want to marry you and have your baby.

    I'd never have found this otherwise.

    Yes it was an archive and install. I added the whole ScriptingAdditions folder to the library and had to alter the permissions as well and now it's working.

    I'm puzzled why it only affected Photoshop and not any of the other creative suite apps.
     
  7. Sean7512 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    #7
    One Step Further.....

    Heres a trickier question for you. Since upgrading from Win XP Home -> Win XP Pro a few months ago, my Photoshop is doing this as well on my laptop. How can I fix this? Well no drag and drop to the icon, but double clicking a photoshop file opens photoshop, but not picture, it gets annoying...Where is the scripting file for Winblows stored at, I guess I need a new copy.

    I had to do this when I upgraded to Tiger, so this is just round 2 for me, haha.
     

Share This Page