Drag N Drop behavior / takes too long

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by skydesigner, Aug 28, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    when I drag 'n drop items between two applications, the whole "transaction" takes very long.
    Example: when I select an image in "Application 1" and I want to drag 'n drop it to "Application 2" (which is hidden under other opened windows), I use the dock or the application overview (exposé?). So I have to hover with the item above the Application (window or dock-item) until it gets automatically selected and the window opens itself.
    This takes around two seconds which is way too long (imho).

    Is there a way to shorten this?

    I hope very one is getting what I mean... English isn't my mother-tongue! :)
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Your English is very fine and better than the English of many native speakers.

    As to drag&drop, can you give an exact example or maybe even make a screenrecording via QT X?

    I for instance use the Dock to open images from one application in another application and it is quite fast (less than a second, though the opening in the second application depends on where the images are stored (external or internal HDD; interface being USB 2.0 or Firewire 800 or USB 3.0 or eSATA).

    Can you also specify the specs of your machine (what exact Mac, how much RAM, storage device(s))?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    #3
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Dat hat so lange gedauert, weil Du über Dock-Exposé gegangen bist. Etwas schneller sollte es mit der Leertaste gehen, siehe unteres Video in 720p für ein Beispiel:

     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    #5
    vielen Dank für den nützlichen Tip! Das mit dem "hot corner" ist eine sehr gute Idee.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Weiß leider net wie dat auf Deutsch heißt, aber Heiße Ecken gibt es bestimmt auch beim Bäcker, oder wie der Ort heißt, wo man fabrikneue Teigwaren serviert bekommt.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    #7
    ah, hab gerade gesehen, dass das "aktive Ecke" heißt. :) Nach längerem ausprobieren ist die Selektion mittels Leertaste echt eine Erleichterung. Nochmals Danke! :)
     

Share This Page