Dreaded Blue Screen of Death mars some Leopard installs

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
  2. macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #2
    APE appears to be the likely culprit from the reports ive read. All my Macs used to run it, so im making sure I uninstall it before upgrading to Leopard on each.
    Im sure APE will get an update however, then i'll run it again. As besides this, its never given me any problems at all.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #3
    I have shapeshifter and application ehancer installed and I was able to upgrade and am operating at no problems *knock on wood*

    So I wouldn't say APE is the total problem..
     
  4. macrumors demi-god

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #4
    This happened to me while upgrading my MacBook Pro. I don't even know what "APE" is, so I'm pretty confident that's not the source of the problems.

    I ended up just reformatting the drive and doing a totally fresh install, which worked just fine.
     
  5. macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    Ditto. Its not APE.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #6
    One can always count on the register to cover any and all problems with the Mac OS to the exclusion of almost all positives. I do not understand why macbytes.rumours covers their "publications".


    I have 4 Macs to upgrade this weekend. Will be fun to see what happens.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    PCMacUser

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    #7
    Yin and yang, man, yin and yang.
     
  8. Administrator emeritus

    Mudbug

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    North Central Colorado
    #8
    I read what's submitted by users, make sure it's topical to current events, and post what I deem relevant. Got better links? Submit them.
     
  9. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #9
    It seems that APE probably is indeed the cause of the problem--just not all versions of APE. Apple has a page on how to get around the resulting blue screen issue. Your modified system is not able to be upgraded in place, so you must install fresh (or at least, Archive and Install, which preserves your data):

    http://daringfireball.net/linked/2007/october#sun-28-ape
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Wayfarer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #10
    No... it's called the "Dreaded Blue Screen of Life"

    (even though that contradicts itself) :p
     
  11. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #11
    Well, I can't install yet until Apple allows a new version of the Intech Hi-Cap driver to be made, and after that I'm not going to Leopard until I can use the "upgrade" route.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #12
    Ouch, sorry Mudbug. I was trying to express my disdain for the register and I can see how you would see it as being critical. My poor post. Again sorry for any offense.

    So I had a scare while updating my MacBook core duo. Had a blue screen for about 20 seconds until the login page loaded. Anyone else experience this?
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #13
    Well, I can't install yet until Apple allows a new version of the Intech Hi-Cap driver to be made, and after that I'm not going to Leopard until I can use the "upgrade" route.
     

Share This Page