Dreamweaver MX 2004 or GoLive CS 7?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by iKwak, Dec 6, 2003.

1. iKwak macrumors member

Nov 20, 2003
    I am using an iBook 800mhz with 256megs of ram.

I need a web designing software and I am stuck between the Dreamweaver MX 2004 and Adobe GoLive CS 7.

I am going to get a book to learn as I am a beginner. What I would like to know is which software can my iBook handle without constant lag and problems. I am not planning on upgrading my ram.

And recommendation on which one is a better investment is very welcomed! TIA.
  2. caveman_uk Guest

Feb 17, 2003
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    Have you also considered Freeway or Freeway Express from Softpress? Although not as well known as the other two you mention the Softpress products both seem to get good reviews. Express is also a lot cheaper - $99 boxed.
  3. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

Oct 5, 2001
    San Diego, CA
    Your iBook meets the minimum requirements for both programs, so you shouldn't have too many problems running either one.

I'm partial to Dreamweaver, but I haven't had the chance to use either one of the new versions, so I can't objectively compare them.
  4. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

Jun 25, 2002
    Gone but not forgotten.
    I've been using GoLive from version 4 to version 6 and I really like how it lends itself to print-like design. It's pretty easy to know where things are because Adobe makes them accessible.

I recently bought Studio MX 2004 and I'm struggling to use Dreamweaver. I know it has a lot in it, but finding things is a nightmare. It's also somewhat slow in comparison to GoLive. However, it found issues immediately with my older pages--problems that Adobe not only let me make but helped me make. If you're going CSS, you won't have these problems, of course.

Certainly, if you have time to poke and prod Dreamweaver, go for it. If you want something a bit more intuitive, use GoLive.
  5. macwill macrumors newbie