Drop Outs

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Bazza, May 6, 2005.

  1. Bazza macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    #1
    Why is it that some of the songs I've uploaded into iTunes have "drop-outs" or gaps in the music when played back? Is it a setting that needs to be changed, is it to do with the bit rate ?? It doesn't happen on every song just some of them...
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    did these songs in particular come from a sractched disc? that could cause the error, if so try re-importing using the digital correction under prefs>importing

    thats the only reason i can see for a song to cut out like that, if the cd is really scratched the skips and everything can be and will be imported
     
  3. convolted macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    #3
    its in preferences - audio section - disable crossfade playback.
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    i dont think that drop outs on some songs are the result of the crossfade feature, this would apply to all the songs in iTunes...
     
  5. Bazza thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    #5
    Tried that...

    Discs are fine - they play OK in all CD players. No scratches. Even play OK in CD drive on PC. One thought. When recording if I access other files/programs while copying would this cause this to happen
     
  6. Bazza thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    #6
    Tried that...

    One thought. When recording if I access other files/programs while copying would this cause this to happen? It's only a a few selected tracks and they tend to come at close intervals...
     
  7. wPod macrumors 68000

    wPod

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #7
    i had this happen once when i was trying to rip my CDs on an old PC. i figured i would eat up the processor on the PC and not bother my PB while i was using it. welll, after ripping a couple of CDs then transfering it to my PB i got a few blips and pauses in the middle of songs. i think the computer was just so overloaded (yes it was an OLD PC!) that it messed up ripping the CDs. i had to rip everything on my PB to get the songs to sound properly. so, as far as i know this is a problem with ripping the tracks. if you are overloading your computer while trying to rip the tracks then this is probably the issue. when i ended up ripping all of my CDs (more than 50) i would do it when i wasnt using my computer (like put in CD, click import then go eat dinner) it took me a few weeks to get them all that way, but it worked.
     

Share This Page