Dropped Frame

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by poppe, Nov 21, 2006.

1. poppe macrumors 68020

poppe

Hello

I keep having this problem with final cut... For some reason no matter what I am doing whether it is editing a short, editing a trailer, or whatever I keep getting dropped frames... why would this keep happening and what can i do?

Everything is in PAL (setting wise)... This even happens to me though when I am doing NTSC...

My Hard drive is set so that it will not try to sleep... What could be the problem? And perhaps a solution?

2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

bigbossbmb

first, are your source files on the same drive as OS X? if so, do not do that! you always want to work on them from a seperate drive.

you should also check your RT settings in Final Cut and make sure they are set to unlimited.

what kind of machine is it? how much ram do you have?

3. poppe thread starter macrumors 68020

poppe

Sorry I am new to macs so I'm not sure what you are all talking about...

It is a 15" MBP 2.0 GHZ, 1gb ram... with a FW 400 External HD. But we were putting on the laptop harddrive first and then transferring over to the HD...

What settings exactly should I have as unlimited? Thank you...

4. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

bigbossbmb

the "RT" are on the left side of the timeline window.

Have you gone into the system settings and adjusting FCP's RAM usage?

Also, if you can, never work with media files on your internal drive. always have them on the external.

5. LukeSkope macrumors newbie

Go into user preferences and uncheck the "report dropped frames during playback" option. Dropped frames happen, it's not usually an issue for me unless it's during capture or print to tape.

Also, in the timeline there is an "RT" box. Put it on "Safe RT"

6. poppe thread starter macrumors 68020

poppe

Well when we are trying to import from the Video Camera I figured it'd be quicker to save it to the internal hdd then to run it from the camera to the FW 400.