Dropped Ipod in Water

Discussion in 'iPod' started by zeppelin68, Dec 22, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #1
    My Friend dropped his 2gen nano in a puddle two days ago. I know he turned it on after this, but I'm not sure what happened. He also plugged it into my computer and it started to get hot around the middle of the click wheel. The computer didn't recognize it and there was nothing on the screen at all. Is it completely dead?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    xXriderXx7

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore, California
    #2
    Id wager it is.

    The main thing to do if an electronic is dropped into water is to either turn it off immediately (if it was on) or don't turn it on at all. Wait several days for it to dry, then attempt to turn it on.

    Seems like your friend is out of luck
    :/
    Sorry
     
  3. mpw
    Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #3
    Leave it to dry for a few days, and if it's built like my Nokia mobile it'll be just fine. Nokia build quality FTW!:cool:
     
  4. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #4
    It's a shame the UIs are like crap though.

    Oh, and the less said about the "communicators" the better :p
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #5
    My 2g went through the wash also. i plugged it into the charger just a few hours later and it turned right on and my nano still works perfect to this day :) and that was 4 months ago. Great build quility apple! But what also helped, i took the top piece and the bottom piece off and got compressed air and sprayed the top of the ipod to try and get out some of the water, that helped a bit, so try that.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #6
    I plugged it into my computer today and the black apple logo came up, but then the video got messed up and it froze. I plugged in just now and it got to the main menu, and it got to a message saying firewire wasn't supported(I was using my firewire cable) but then it froze again.
     

Share This Page