drug store printing/scanning

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by puckhead193, Jun 18, 2006.

  1. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    has anyone used the drug store digital photo service, like that kodak thing?
    I have 2 pictures that i want to scan and put them in my iphoto book. But i don't have s scanner so i thought i could use that. Does anyone know if after i scan it, i can save to a CD-R or a memory card (compact flash) to import into iphoto/my book?
    Thanks
     
  2. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #2
    We have the Kodak stations at my job, and they seem to work well. IIRC ours has the Epson 4990 attached, and that scanner has gotten high marks.
     
  3. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    after i scan them in can i save it to a disk so i can import it in iphoto/my computer :confused:
     
  4. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #4
    Off the bat, I know that you can save them to a floppy disk. Shameful that I don't know if you can save them to a CD. I know the Kodak centers can save images from a memory card to a CD.
     
  5. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    so finally went to my local CVS and not only do u have to use a floppy it has to be a windows formated floppy.... grrrr
    who has floppies anymore
     
  6. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #6
    well the format shouldnt matter i know macs can read windows floppies

    good luck on finding a floppy and a usb floppy drive
     
  7. cgratti macrumors 6502a

    cgratti

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    #7
    I wouldn't even get 1 pic saved to a floppy! My pics average 15MB each when saved!!!
     
  8. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #8
    yea how is that going to work. I haven't gone back yet, buta floppy holds like 1.4 MB. I want the picture to look decent so i can add it to my photobook and get that sent out so i can show everyone my pictures. Kodak if your reading this, use CD-Rs or a USB thumb drive :mad:
     
  9. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #9
    Worse then that. A high quality scan will NOT fit on a floppy disk. A scan of a 35mm fram should be several megebytes. It if fits on a floppy then it is a low resolution scan.
     

Share This Page