DTT/Analogue TV Tuner for MAC?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jamieg, Apr 17, 2006.

  1. jamieg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #1
    I would like to buy a TV tuner for my 12'' PowerBook.

    Is there a compatible USB tuner that can do DTT (Digital Terestrial TV / FreeView-UK) AND Analogue?:confused:

    I have seen these Hybrid USB tuners that do DTT and have Analogue tuners for Windows, but haven't seen them for the MAC :mad:

    I have been looking at Terratec's TV solutions for MAC (they do a Hybrid DTT/Analogue one for Windows), but I don't want to go ahead and get a card that does DTT and not Analogue or vice versa, then regret it.

    Thanking you in advance for any helpful replies.

    Jamie
     
  2. superleccy macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #2
    AFAIK, there is no combo Digital/Analogue TV Tuner for the Mac in the UK. But I could be wrong.

    Three more things to consider...

    ...the only reason you'd regret not getting Analogue TV support is if you lived in an area that didn't support Freeview.

    ...whatever you get, make sure you get a tuner that comes with Elgato EyeTV (preferably version 2). It's 1000 times better than any TV tuner/recording software you might have seen for Windows.

    ...consider firewire devices as well as USB devices, even if you've run out of firewire ports. For example, my Elgato EyeTV410 inclues a firewire pass-thru which is perfectly good for running my Lacie drive.

    HTH
    Regards
    Superleccy

    PS: It's Mac, not MAC. :eek:
     
  3. jamieg thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #3
    Thanks for the info, much apreciated.

    Jamie
     
  4. Nickygoat macrumors 6502a

    Nickygoat

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Can I ask why it has to have analogue as well? Can't you get Freeview?
    You can check here.
    There aren't many places now that can't get it, and those postcodes it says it can't generally just need a new aerial. I know because I got my dad one for Christmas and it works beautifully.
    And for £89 (it's on sale at The Apple Store at the mo) it's worth a punt.
     
  5. jamieg thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #5
    I would find the Analoge Input handy on products such as the 'Terratec Cinergy Hybrid T USB XSI' (which is Windows only:mad: ).

    I live in scotland, places I stay and travel to vary in FreeView reception. It doesnt HAVE to be able to tune into analogue channels, but it would be usefull to connect up to my Digital Cable box, or to a Digital Satelite box.

    Did the one you got come with one of these mini ariels? And if so, does it work effectively or do u need to plug it into a decent roof ariel?

    Thanks
    Jamie
     
  6. superleccy macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #6
    My EyeTV410 came with a mini-ariel, which was useless, but perhaps this is because DTV coverage in my area is merely adequate, not brilliant.

    However, I acually use a slightly larger mini-ariel which I bought from Maplin about 15 years ago, and that works perfectly on every channel if I get the position exactly right.

    This set-up actually gives better reception than my Freeview box, which is downstairs connected to my main TV and a nice shiny new roof ariel. However, I think that is because my freeview box is a bit rubbish.

    So basically, a mini-ariel might do the job (even if not the one that comes with the unit, if one comes at all), depending on what your freeview coverage is like. Unfortunately it's suck-it-and-see... but you could be plesantley surprised.

    HTH
    Superleccy
     

Share This Page