Dual 1.25Ghz G4 OR Single 1.6Ghz G5 ????

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Inocense, Feb 6, 2004.

1. Inocense macrumors newbie

I am new to the MAC world and I have been forced into it by the problematic PC's. I will be purchasing a Mac sometime within the next 2 months after my research that will hopefully provide me with comfort in making a decision...

Money at this point is an issue, therefore I am limited to either the Dual Processor 1.25 G4 or the Single Processor 1.6 G5...

My main uses for this PC would be Gaming (Halo, UT2003), internet surfing/chatting, and Adobe Element type of software for digital camera images.

I need some serious advise on which one of these 2 I should purchase and I am hoping someone on this forum with everyone's extensive knowledge can assist! :)

I cannot find any benchmarks comparing these specific 2 Mac's so I am at a loss.

Thank you in advance for any and all of your opinions/advise. It is greatly appreciated!!

2. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

Dont Hurt Me

forget G4 its on the way out. thats why its in ibook/emac. I just got a flyer today from MacConnection they have 1.8 new G5s for 1699.00 and you get 1 gb of memory for a $29.00 dollar installation fee. takes about 1 minute to installl memory on the G5s. This is a Great G5 buy and i have considered it but its still a little to close to my 1.47 G4. anyways a Great bargain.

3. neonart macrumors 65816

neonart

I'm in the same boat as you, but I already have the DP1.25. I'm looking for better gaming.
    I can tell you Halo and Raven Shield, and Ghost Recon play very good on this machine with a Radeon 9800.
    But when comparing the 1.6 G5 to the DP1.25 with their stock video cards, the G5 may be a bit faster. Here is a comparison that may help:
    http://www.barefeats.com/halo.html

And since you are not in a rush to buy right now, new G5's are due soon, so you may end up with something a good bit faster as an entry level machine.