dual 1Ghz machine questions

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by GyroFX, Feb 16, 2002.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
    #1
    can someone tell me if changing the existing Geforce4mx with a radeon 8500 will help dramaticly?

    Will the Logitech MouseMan Dual Optical work with OSX?

    thanx
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    #2
    The mouse should work with OS X. I have hooked up old ADB mouses to my B&W and they work.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    secret city
    #3
    dude dont switch out the gforce4....

    well if you do give it to me:p


    anyways it shouldnt be a problem the way you got it.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    ummmmm...

    The Radeon 8500 beats the pants off the GF4mx, you must be thinking of the GF4Ti. The 4mx is basically a turbocharged 2mx.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
    #5
    thanx

    yeah...the dual optical works fine...just that the forth button on the left side of the mouse has no function, yet...

    Yeah...the Geforce4mx card isn't all that bad...maybe a i'll upgrade to Ti later.

    Oh yeah, does anyone know where to buy cheap 512 ram for the mac at? The cheapest I've found is $105. And also, will regular PC133 rams for the pc work for G4s? The cheapest I've seen of those are 75 dollars. Thanx
     
  6. macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #6
    go for it...

    I've never purchased a video card from nVidia, but I did some research before picking up my 8500. At the time, it beat the GF4 in several tests, enough to give it a 10 out of 10 rating from the magazine. The GF4 didn't rate that high.

    I would suggest getting it from someplace with a good return policy (user friendly). See if they will take it back, without a pesky restocking fee, if it doesn't perform as you need. They should allow it, depending on who you buy it from.

    It would be interesting to get some real world comparisons between the two cards.

    Has anyone else noticed that as soon as ATI releases a great card, nVidia scambles to make theirs better?? At this rate, as soon as you get one, the other company will come out with something better within a few months. The cycle never ends....
     
  7. macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #7
    Re: thanx

    With memory, as well as most things in life, you get what you pay for. I would compare the specifications, as well as the brand of memory. While standard PC133 memory should function properly in your G4 tower, make sure that you get it from someplace with a buyer friendly return policy. Not a, "you installed it, it's yours" policy. If it is a matter of a few dollars between brand X memory and a name brand, I would go with the name brand.

    Also, memory prices are none too stable at the moment... Make sure you get the price over the phone before ordering. Nothing worse then ordering it online for one price, only to get the invoice that shows more. While it may not be nice, they can get away with it (small print... prices subject to change without notice).
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    madamimadam

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    #8
    Re: dual 1Ghz machine questions

    I don't know what you use your machine for but for my needs and wants I would go:
    1) GF4MX
    2) 8500
    3) GF4Ti

    8500 is much better than the GF4MX BUT only if you will use that extra power. It is no good buying more powerful items unless you utilise what they are capable of but if you are pushing your MX to the limit then the 8500 would put a nice smile on your dial.
     
  9. macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    secret city
    #9
    Re: ummmmm...


    sorry my bad...i failed to read that carefully.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
    #10
    my needs

    i'm using my machine to do graphical work on PS and movie/short film editing with FCP. So...by those standards, which one would you guys prefer? Thanx
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
    #11
    another question

    oh yeah...btw, the time on the right corner of OSX is displaying the time in 24 hour mode. I can't seem to change it no matter what, any suggestions?
     
  12. macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #12
    Re: another question

    Go into the System Preferences panel, to Date & Time and change the settings there.
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #13
    mine is doing that too now, and i can't find any preferences to change it back.
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    madamimadam

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    #14
    Re: my needs

    I say the 8500 would be best for that.

    And the Date and Time are very NOT customisable atm
     

Share This Page