Dual 2.0 PowerMac G5 or 20" G5 iMac? Did I choose wrong?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by bzollinger, Jan 31, 2006.

1. bzollinger macrumors 6502a

bzollinger

So I'm really at a loss here. I'm a network admin that recently ('05) converted to Mac and they're great. Earlier this year I sold my Mac mini and bought a PM dual 2.0 thinking I would be happy with it for the next 5 years. Well I knew the 512MB of RAM was not going to work so I bought another 1GB and now I've got plenty. Here's the deal, this system isn't snappy, responsive or quick enough. If there's RAM and CPU cycles available the spinning beach ball should never show its face. It's all relative..........:D

When asked, I always tell people you only really need what you'll use (plus a little for good measure :) ) I've witnessed the raw power of this awesome machine when making DVDs or working with photos in PS. But what it comes down to is......I don't do that type of computing very often.

iTunes is ALWAYS running with many many GBs of songs (250GB+), I use Mail, Safari, and a few other apps. Occasionally I'll pump my video signal to my home theater projector. So really I'm using a PowerMac G5 for a home multimedia machine!

Is this a waste of a kick butt machine? I've monitored all of the activity monitor components but haven't found a real clear bottleneck. Should I upgrade the disk to a new WD 10,000 RMP raptor? Will that make it more "snappy"? If I get a iMac will I be disappointed? Is OSX just inefficient? In lieu of that, why does it take google earth so long to load, when the CPU and disk are running at 25-40% of capacity? Shouldn't all the resources run full bore if not needed for tasks?

Forgive the long post. I'm new at OSX, I love the platform. I switched for two reasons, the interface and the speed. Can you help with the latter????

2. cb911 macrumors 601

cb911

no worries about the 'long' post. you should have seen some of mine.:p :D