Dual 2.7 GFX

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by webobject, Apr 29, 2005.

  1. webobject macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    #1
    It seems even ATI don't know what a 9650 is, I downloaded the latest driver and installed it and ATIs info panel is titled "Unknown ATI Graphics" lol.
    Furthermore, Vue 5 infinite does not recognise the card either. Ho hum
    Webob
     
  2. carlos700 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    #2
    I believe the ATI RADEON 9650 is a custom version of the ATI RADEON 9600 XT with Dual DVI Link support. The reason I believe it is a custom version of the ATI RADEON 9600 XT vs the ATI RADEON 9600 is the number of pixels pumped per second. The ATI RADEON 9600 XT can do 1.6 billion, the ATI RADEON 9650 can also do 1.6 billion whereas the ATI RADEON 9600 can only do 1.3 billion.

    Although I wonder what benchmarks say.
     
  3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    Apple needed the card, before the 6800 would basically kill over half the power available to the PCI slots (down to 30W.)

    The 9650 still is listed at near the same power as the 9600 with full power still available to the PCI slots (still 75W.)
     
  4. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #4
    That's strange.....maby as said they just made the card so it could drive the 30" without costing 500 bucks :rolleyes:
     
  5. littlejim Guest

    #5
    I got my 2.7 home last night from the Apple Store. Took a look at the graphics card in the system profile and it's reporting itself as a 9600 with 256Mb VRAM and NOT a 9650!

    I assume that someone putting the machine together has put the wrong card in the machine?

    Hmmm. Better call Apple!
     
  6. webobject thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    #6
    I found it odd that there where no other ATI BTO choices. I would have gone for a bigger better ATI card as they supposedly support OpenGL dual planes in Cinema 4D. The 9650 doesn't as far as I can see.
     
  7. Roz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    #7
    Same here...says I have the 9600 with 256 VRAM, which is essentially all the 9650 is. Just wonder why it doesn't register as the 9650.
     
  8. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #8
    Thats because it is a 9600 lol. The "50" is just the custom version. Its the same exact core as the 9600, just like the 9600XT is still just a 9600 at heart.
     
  9. littlejim Guest

    #9
    Yes, but as far as I'm aware, the 9600XT identifies itself as such in System Profiler.
    It's bloody annoying and confusing that 9650 shows up as a 9600.
     

Share This Page