Dual 30" ACD with Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rlove06, Dec 4, 2006.

  1. rlove06 macrumors member

    rlove06

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #1
    Hey guys. Planning on a big purchase here. I need to buy a new setup as for the last couple of months I've been Mac less :eek: because I've been living out of the country on an extended business trip and sold my PB here because this guy offered me what I paid for it and it was six months old!! I've saved a lot of money because my company has been paying almost all my expenses and I'm now actually starting my own company with a partner.

    Anyways, back to the point. My original plan was to get a mac pro 3.0GHz and Dual 30" ACD's. However, I thought popped into my head. It's about the same price to buy one 30" and two 23". Is anyone running this configuration or running two 30" ACD's? I'm curious as if two 30" is just to overwhelming or not.

    Any help is much appreciated! You guys are always great help! :)
     
  2. atari1356 macrumors 68000

    atari1356

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    #2
    What kind of work are you going to be doing on the computer? Two 30" screens would be a heck of a lot of screen space...

    With a 30" and 2 x 23" monitors it seems like you'd have to move your head back and forth to actually keep track of each screen - maybe to the point of being uncomfortable - but again, I think that depends on what you're using the computer for.
     
  3. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #3
    Dual 30" ACD's would be an insane, but an awesome setup if you can afford it rlove06. :eek: :D
     
  4. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    I have a dual 30" in the edit suite, and it's definitely massive. Try to simulate the space at your desk and get an idea of how much you'll be looking side to side. It's a bit of a chore, but it's nice to have the real estate, and it'll give you a tan with all that light beaming on you.
     
  5. scifiman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    #5
    My boss where I work has a Mac Pro/ dual 30" setup. Its very nice!!! He does a lot of webpage design/iPhoto/Aperture/Photoshop work so he keeps his email/browsers on one and his editing stuff on the other. It works very well for that.

    OF COURSE---if you need more room ala the 1x 30" and 2x 23" then check out this site out and drool!. Be sure to scroll all the way down. [digitaltigers.com]
     
  6. jmoss macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    #6
    A nice choice to make!

    I'm running a 30" and a 23" and love it. Tend to have email and Bluephone Elite + QT movies running on the 23 and then browsing and photos and iTunes on the 30". I think three screens MAY be over kill but who knows!! :D
     
  7. rlove06 thread starter macrumors member

    rlove06

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #7
    I'm a programmer/graphics artist/web design guy. I run a IT solutions firm with my partner. We cover lots of different areas and just the two of us at the moment, I fill lots of roles in the company.

    Yeah, not really a problem with buying it, I can justify the cost. From what it sounds like I'll probably go with the Dual 30" ACD's when I get back.

    Any more feedback would be appreciated. Thanks to all!
     
  8. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #8
    I have a single 30" and have been using it for 2 years. Not once have I ever considered adding another screen, ever again, besides a Cintiq 21ux. My reasons are because I can't stand a middle gap, and the color difference that is always present on more than one screen. Photoshop also has image tearing issues that don't properly refresh with multiple screens.

    By a neck brace if you get 2. I have to turn my head to see my whole screen. :)

    <]=)
     
  9. dbater macrumors member

    dbater

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    Victoria, Canada
    #9
    If money is not a concern go with two 30". But....you don't need two, I have one and that's big enough.....you will wear out your collar on your shirts moving your head.
     
  10. rlove06 thread starter macrumors member

    rlove06

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #10
    I think I need to go to an Apple store when I get back and see if I can see two of them side by side. Maybe I'll go with one 30" at first and spend the extra money on more RAM and storage. I was gonna put 3GB more in but maybe I'll bump it up to 6GB. Any other angles on this subject? Thanks again. You guys rock for helpin out! :D
     
  11. T0mmyGunZ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #11
    ive seen a 30' dell wtih dual 20' 1600x1200 montiors tilted and they line up perfect with the 30' and look very good
     
  12. rlove06 thread starter macrumors member

    rlove06

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #12
    Yeah, I thought about the Dells but I'm anal enough about this stuff that I want the ACD's. I know they don't offer the same inputs, etc, etc, but they look great and besides playin Xbox is what the 46" LCD TV is for. :cool: :D
     
  13. markjones05 macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #13
    i got a 30" and i can tell you 1 screen at 2560x1600 is more than enough screen real estate for anyones needs. It makes working with HD video look small. 2x30" is just gluttonous. That said, DO IT!:D
     
  14. rlove06 thread starter macrumors member

    rlove06

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #14
    HAHA! Yeah I hear that, I just wonder if it will increase productivity or actually not help at all. Still not sure what I'm going to do. Anybody possibly have a close up photo of their 30" in use? With windows open etc? Thanks all!! :)
     
  15. markjones05 macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #15
    Heres a pic of my screen right now. The photoshop canvas is HDTV 1280x720pixels to give u an idea.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. rlove06 thread starter macrumors member

    rlove06

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #16
    DAMN! Two 30's would be killer then. Thanks for that screen shot. This is going to be a tough decision. I think I'll go to my local Apple store when I get back to the states and ask if I can see two 30's next to each other. I wonder if they will do it or not? I guess if I tell them I'll buy it if I like it they might? Idk. Anyways, thanks again. Input is much appreciated. :)
     
  17. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #17
    I put together this page when I was trying to decide whether or not to buy the 30" display a few years ago. I also have a handful of desktop screenshots which show the 30" in action. I'm glad I bought the 30", it's life-changing and I mirror JackAxe's sentiment -- In the time I've had this single 30" display I've not once ever wished I had a second one.

    I actually ran dual 30" for a few days. My girlfriend ordered a Mac Pro with a 30" and her display arrived a few weeks before the Mac Pro did. Naturally I offered to help her "test" the new display by hooking it up to my PowerMac while she waited. I didn't find it to be worth the desk space it consumed. The additional utility of the second 30" wasn't sufficient to justify having to put my speakers and telephone on the floor. :)

    If you have a specific application in mind where you know how you'll make use of the second display then it's surely worth buying. If you're just afraid of not getting "the best" then I'd suggest at least starting out with just the one display and seeing if you find it lacking. I know I never have.
     
  18. rlove06 thread starter macrumors member

    rlove06

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #18
    Thanks Nugget! That was a very helpful page. I think the smart thing is to buy just one 30" and then determine after that if I need another. I'll probably put a little more RAM in there and then see how it works out. If I find I need another one, I'll just drive back down to the Apple store.

    Btw, you're a pilot as well?
     
  19. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #19
    I'm glad you found the page useful. It was a lot of fun to build. I am a pilot, yeah, but just recreationally. Single engine pistons for $100 hamburgers (although $100 sounds low with the current price for 100LL fuel). Keeps me motivated for plugging away on FlightAware coding.
     
  20. rlove06 thread starter macrumors member

    rlove06

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #20
    Sweet! Same here. I've got my Private. Workin on my instrument, slowly but surely. What do you normally take up? Do you own your own plane?
     
  21. rlove06 thread starter macrumors member

    rlove06

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #21
    Goin for it!

    All right after much discussion I've decided to just buy two 30" ACD's. My wife is intrigued about using a 30" so if it turns out that the second one is being neglected she can use it with her MBP. I'm getting back to the states on the 14th and will probably wait till after MWSF to purchase. Just cause ya never know what ole Steve is up too. ;) Shall I post pics when its up?
     
  22. Creeping-Death macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #22
    Of course!

    And just wondering, when is the MWSF taking place?
     
  23. rlove06 thread starter macrumors member

    rlove06

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #23
    January 9th through the 12th.
     
  24. SMM macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #24
    I had two 30" screens, one an ACD and the other a Dell. I liked, and used the full real estate. But, I did not like the ACD/Dell as a combo. The Dell looks fine by itself, but not as good next to the ACD. So, I would not recommend mix-match unless you can try it out, or have a nice fallback position. For me, I took the Dell to work and am looking for an opportunity to get another ACD.
     
  25. SMM macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #25
    If you want to know what it looks like, I have my set-up in the "Post pictures of your set-up" thread.
     

Share This Page