dual channel memory question.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DavidCL23, Jan 2, 2007.

  1. DavidCL23 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    I just purchased a new macbook pro 15" 2.16ghz model. I purhased a second stick of 1gb memory. I would like to know if the memory is running in dual channel mode. Is there a software program that can run the dual channel test?
     
  2. Nevrsadie macrumors regular

    Nevrsadie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Dark side of the monitor
    #2
    If you have two sticks of ram in there, you are running in dual channel. Even if they are not the same size.
     
  3. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #3
    Don't they need to be of the same size and speed?

    At least for PeeCees a lot of effort goes into making matched pairs of memory modules to ensure that they work in dual channel correctly. My understanding from the effort that goes into it is a lot more than just the size has to match, perhaps even the latency and speed and a whole lot of other memory parameters have to match plus the sun and saturn have to align before the 2 memory modules will decide to work in dual channel mode.
     
  4. iBorg20181 macrumors 6502

    iBorg20181

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #4
    For optimized speed you need them to be a "matched pair," meaning same size and speed.

    iBorg
     
  5. DavidCL23 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Location:
    NJ
    #5

    cool, thank you
     

Share This Page