Dual Drives on One Firewire Port?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Ozamandiz, Oct 4, 2005.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    #1
    I recently purchased a Firewire Bridge board (small circuit board) that can support two IDE drives, one master and one slave--very common. When I connect the two drive to my G5 (running Tiger 10.4), it only sees one drive--the master.

    If the master is removed, then the iMAC can see the slave drive. If the master is reconnected, then it can only see the master. When the board is connected to an IBM compatible PC, it can see both drives so the bridge board is working.

    Does anyone know if this "one drive limit" is part of the Firewire implementation on the iMAC, or it is a limitation of the operating system?

    Thanks for any information!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    is there a 'master/slave' jumper on the ide drives? one will have to be set to master the other to slave.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #3
    I agree that jumper settings should be the first thing you explore. If the ones above suggested don't work, try other combinations. I bet one of them will work properly.
     
  4. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    No, there is no such limit in Mac hardware or software. For example, the LaCie Big Disk Extremes are all 2-drive enclosures. WiebeTech and Granite also have dual and 4-drive FW enclosures. The problem is between your bridge board and your drives. Go back to the bridge board manual and start again. Does the Bridge board support Mac? What quality is it?
     
  5. macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #5
    If they're both set to cable select, change it to master and slave. If it's m and s, change to cs. I forget which is better on the Mac, but that's probably your problem. Any fw bridge should be compatible with Macs.
     
  6. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #6
    Internally, the Mac uses Cable Select. The firewaire bridge would have its own requirements since it's talking to the drives.

    Some drives have different jumpers for "Master" and "Master with Slave", also if the drives are not the same model, try switching which one is set to be the master - not all drives are created equal.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005

Share This Page