Dual G4 500 & AirPort

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by BicyclePunk, Aug 17, 2004.

  1. BicyclePunk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Location:
    Somewhere near Philadelphia
    #1
    Ok...I have one of the older Dual G4 500 PowerMac machines and I'd like to put an AirPort card in it. Is it even possible? I have the AirPort card I took out of my older iBook. Any insight would be great. Thanks!
     
  2. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    It'll work. I don't know how mucn more insight I can give. The answer is "yes."
     
  3. osprey76 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    #3
    I have a Gigabit machine, too. I installed an Airport card a few months ago and it works fine. I don't have anything of my own to connect to wirelessly, but I got one when they were on sale at OWC. One of these days I'll get AirTunes set up.
     
  4. BicyclePunk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Location:
    Somewhere near Philadelphia
    #4
    Ok...maybe I should be more specific. Do I need an adapter or anything. I don't see the usual AirPort hook up in there. Or am I just not looking hard enough. If that doesn't exist, is there a PCI adaptor card or anything I can buy? Thanks. I already have the AirPort card...not AirPort extreme. Thanks!
     
  5. Finiksa macrumors 6502a

    Finiksa

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    When the side door is down the Airport card slot is on the front edge.

    You can download the Airport installation manual here.
     
  6. BicyclePunk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Location:
    Somewhere near Philadelphia
    #6
    Ok...I'm an idiot. It was right there in front of me. AirPort card is in and working well. Thanks for the advice!
     

Share This Page