Dual G4-Busted Processor? Any tips?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Balin64, May 3, 2005.

  1. Balin64 macrumors 6502a

    Balin64

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    In a Mauve Dream
    #1
    Hello:

    Here's the deal. I have an opportunity to pick up a dual 867mhz PM G4. It's from a marketing department that just upgraded to G5's. I do not have an opportunity to check it out beforehand: they say they're too busy. Whatever. Anyway, the price is right: 150 bucks. They say that one of the processors is failing. What? Anyone heard of that? They couold not tell me if this was verified by a tech or that's just what they came up with. Corporatemongers, what can we say? :confused: :confused: :confused:

    So: have you guys heard of this before? Is it possible to replace just once processor or are they syamese twins. As far as I am told, it has adequate RAM, an 80GB drive, and a Combo Drive. Good deal? Any ideas?
     
  2. Balin64 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Balin64

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    In a Mauve Dream
    #2
    Ya bums

    Fine. I found some info on my own. :( :(

    I'll still get this system and configure it so it will work correctly; I may not be able to do it all myself, but maybe a social services agency can use it. I am hoping so, my ex was a social worker and maybe she can find a home for this G4. :p
     
  3. Invizzible macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    #3
    I've never heard of replacing only one processor in a dual machine. But you could always get a dual processor upgrade card, and replace both processors. A card with processors as fast as, or a little faster than, 867 Mhz is probably pretty cheap these days.
     
  4. arribadia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    #4
    What? Are the processors soldered onto the mainboard (or Logic Board) or something?

    You should be able to find a replacement and just swop the toasted one out ;)
     
  5. Invizzible macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    #5
    Far as I know, the processors are soldered onto a small daugher board, that plugs into the main board. That's how it was with my single processor 400 Mhz Powermac G4. I bought an upgrade card, to replace the original daughter board. The upgrade card has a 1.4 Ghz processor soldered to it.


    I suppose if you're good with a soldering iron, and can get hold of a replacement processor, you could just swap out the bad one. Then again, it might not be the processor that's bad. It might be a resistor or something that's mounted to the daughter board but external to the processor chip.
     
  6. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    you can disable the dodgy cpu with chud tools, it's probably the cache so i'd try downclocking it go to www.powerlogix.com they have a tool for doing so.

    i wish i had q dual 867MHz g4 for $150 :(
     

Share This Page