Dual G4's or Imac g5

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by FF_productions, Jun 28, 2005.

  1. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #1
    With a budget of 1000 dollars, and its use for video editing, I want to know if I should buy a dual g4 tower, or a iMac G5...I know the g4 tower is upgradeable, but the g5 comes with the monitor (all in one)...I need some input from you guys (I will be a switcher soon)
     
  2. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #2
    What kind of G4? If it's more than Dual 1-1.25 GHz, then it would be faster in video editing. Just be sure that sofware you would use supports dual processors
     
  3. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #3
    im using final cut of course, and the dual g4's have to be priced under 1000...
     
  4. carlos700 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    #4
    I would go with the G4 if it was dual 1.25 or 1.42 Gigahertz.
    The G4 Towers are still very powerful.
     
  5. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #5
    Thats what I meant. even Dual 1 GHz can beat Single G5 (1.6 or maybe 1.8) in video editing
     
  6. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
  7. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
  8. SpaceMagic macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #8
    I dunno guys, the dual maybe faster in SOME video apps but the iMac will beat in others.

    Personally, I know which I'd go for. You can't deny the design, ease, all-in-one ness of the iMac G5 is attractive. The iMac also comes with an Apple warranty, being a new machine, and user servicable parts, which saves a lot of time (than having to send off to dealer).

    At the end of the day, even if the duals are slightly faster, its only a few extra minutes. The iMac just makes so much sense to me in design terms. It's up to you, sir.
     
  9. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
    For video editing, the dual G4 is the wisest choice. You can install 4 internal HDs and 2 dedicated firewire 800 ports for capture and storage. RAM expansion is greater. With software like FCP and Compressor, they simply work better on dual systems, and you most likely get smoother overall system performance. A wide selection of upgradeable video cards means you could span your editing desktop across multiple monitors.
     
  10. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #10
    Well, by the time i max out my dual g4, I will pretty much have spent enough for a dual g5 (ram, graphics cards, monitors, hd's)...This is a tough decision...My problem is that I'm trying to buy a computer that will do the job for editing, while I try to also get a high-end camcorder, hence the reason for a low budget(for the computer)
     
  11. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
  12. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #12
    Well that doesn't make any sense.

    If you were to get an iMac G5, you'd still need to upgrade those particular components. If you wanted to add extra storage, you'd need to buy the drives, PLUS the external firewire cases and firewire hubs. The G4 has all that upgradeability built into the tower.

    I think if you were to get serious anyway, a refurbished dual G5 PowerMac is your best bet, but it won't be going for $1000 for at least several more years. It's good you spend the money on a high-end camcorder, as those will hold their value much longer than computers.
     
  13. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #13
    another vote for the g4. you will be able to have extra drive, pci cards & extra monitors. Your only problem is if you want to run motion or do a lot of rendering.
     
  14. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #14
    hmm...i'm starting to lean towards the g4's...
     
  15. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #15

    I hardly consider this being a problem, because if he gets a decent GPU (Radeon 9800 etc) he'll be fine.
     
  16. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #16
    yeah but a 9800 is about half his budget. I just got a g5 as my old g4 733 wasn't good-enough to run motion! :D
     
  17. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #17
    and another thing, with the G4 & a DC30 video capture card using the driver from http://www.alfanet.it/squared5/dc30xact.html you can get real time video out to a pal/ntsc monitor from FCP or any QT movie. Is a shame the DC30 card does not fit into the g5!
     
  18. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #18
    No, not 500$. Even X850 is 400$. And you can fit 128 MB AGP4x Radeon 9800 in G4.

    What video card did you have? If it supported CoreImage, it should be fine in Motion and he wants a dual G4, not single like one you had
     
  19. fartheststar macrumors 6502a

    fartheststar

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #19
    I have a dual G4 1.25. Great for video editing.

    My video Card (Radeon 9000) isn't good enough for motion.
     
  20. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #20
    My dad had dual 1.42 with Rad 9000 and he said Motion didnt even want to install!!
     
  21. fartheststar macrumors 6502a

    fartheststar

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #21
    That's right. you need a better video card - it's nothing to do with the speed of the processor in this case.
     

Share This Page