Dual Monitor Setup for Intel IMac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by alexwoolley, Jul 15, 2006.

  1. alexwoolley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #1
    Hey guys, first post...so hello! But now down to business ;)

    Ive got one of the new IMacs, and ive just been given a CRT monitor, and i was wondering how I may go about connecting them both together in order to have a stretch screen (being able to simply drag between both screens). Any help would be great, cheers!

    Alex.
     
  2. 4God macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #2
    You need a mini-dvi to vga adapter (assuming you have a vga connector on the end of that cable). You can get one from Apple.
     
  3. ham_man macrumors 68020

    ham_man

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    #3
    In the "Displays" section of System Preferences, you should be able to dictate your dual monitor setup in the "Arrangement" panel.... :)
     
  4. alexwoolley thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #4
    damn you guys are quick! I like it here. Cheers for the help guys, think ill swing by the Apple store on monday and grab myself one.

    Alex

    Ps. More a curiousity thing than anything else, but is it possible to connect more than 2 screens together?
     
  5. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #5
    Not with the iMac, you'd probably need another video card, something that is not an option on the iMac's.
     
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6
    Welcome to MacRumors alexwoolley! :)

    Yep, that is all that you need. :)
     
  7. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #7
    Hundreds of people have aksed whether this is possible on a MacBook Pro or iMac. I have answered them yes. I used to have a link to an adapter, but I lost it. It transformed one DVI port into two. I would only recommend doing this on the MacBook Pro though, since it has a Duallink DVI connector, and therefore is capable of running external displays at up to 3840x2400, or two 23" ACD's, which are both 1920x1200. The iMac only has a Singlelink DVI connector, and can run external displays at up to 1920x1200. This means, you would have to run two external monitors at 960x600, or as it is possible; 800x600, which is very low resoltuion and would s*ck hard. So, yes you can, but don't do it with an iMac, MacBook or MacMini. Only a MacBook Pro.:D
     

Share This Page