Dual Monitors one as output

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by korki696, Oct 1, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #1
    hey i have a 23" cinema display and a 40" samsung lcd tv and i want to use my samsung as an output monitor for final cut and after effects is this possible through dvi? i got an HDMI to DVI cable to hoook up my tv but i cant figure out how to tell final cut or after effects to use my second display as an output monitor. anyone got a solution for this?
    thanks
    -Korki-
     
  2. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Of course it is. But a 40" monitor is quite big for this.


    You open Final Cut.

    Go to Menu > View > Video Playback: Here you find an option to select your second monitor.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #3
    its not giving me the option to select that display all it lets me select is"
    Digital Cinema Desktop
    Digital Cinema Desktop - Main
    Digital Cinema Desktop - Fullscreen
    Digital Cinema Desktop - Raw
    any other ideas?
    thanks again
    -Korki-
     
  4. macrumors demi-god

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    What happened when you tried those options? FCP won't give you a list of attached monitors if that's what you are looking for. Also, something to keep in mind is that what you'll see is just an approximation of what your footage looks like.


    Lethal
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #5
    it will only make my cinema display the monitor and ive tried switching the dvi ports and nothing changes
    thanks
    -Korki-
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #6
    Dual Monitor with output

    I previously was using apples older displays the ADC's one 20" the other 23" I recently upgraded to two Cinema Displays matching size and the option to have final cut do video playback on my second monitor has disappeared. It's quite irritating because I know that It can do this. Does anyone know why it went away and what to do about it? I would really appreciate any help anyone has.

    Thanks
    Adam
     

Share This Page