Dual Monitors

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by tehybrid, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. tehybrid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    #1
    I always hear people say dual monitors are an editors dream. Why? I currently have dual monitors but im kinda meh about it. What set up should I be using to get the best out of it?

    Thanks
    Kevin
     
  2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #2
    dual monitors = no or less shrunken down/overlapping windows

    its a productivity thing.
     
  3. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #3
    i never liked having the bezels in the middle of my field of view. A 30" solves that problem! :p
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    I'd think one of the biggest reasons would be to have an output monitor on one screen and all the editing / timeline / etc tools on the other?
     
  5. Rasheem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    #5
    In FCP if you click windows>arrange you can see one normal dual editing use however i prefer my timeline and timeline viewer on one screen and my Viewer and Browser on my other screen. For color correcting i slightly modify the preset "dual screen color correcting" already in FCP
     
  6. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #6
    In Aperture there are specific settings for 2 monitor operation. I found it very helpful at the time give that I full screen preview was "necessary".
     
  7. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #7
    i have and love dual it lets me bu much more productive. I can fit muhc more in my viewable area and for amny applicatiosn you can stratch things across. It is really nice for final cut and many 3d apps as well as photoshop. Personally I really dont think ill be going back to one monitor for a long time.
     
  8. faustfire macrumors 6502a

    faustfire

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    California
    #8
    I find dual monitors especially helpful when doing pdf based tutorials, not flipping back and forth from the app to the tutorial is a real timesaver.
     
  9. BeefUK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #9
    I agree they're excellent for reading info on one screen and then working on the other.

    I have dual monitors in work, I don't use then for video editing, but instead programming it makes your day so much more productive as there's no flipping backwards and forwards.
     
  10. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #10
    The best reason to have two monitors is so that one of them can be a "Real" TV monitor so you can see what the show will look like. Put one of the viewers on that. This also frees up screen space.
     
  11. theWholeTruth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    #11
    More screen real estate is the obvious reason for dual monitors. When you're trying to edit a feature or long-form doc, you need that extra monitor for all those freakin' bins...!

    For editing, the standard set-up is (for both AVID and FCP) to have viewing monitors and timeline on one monitor, bins on another. I have at least 5 presets for standard editing, FX editing, audio mixing, preview, etc.; with certain tools on the screen at all times.

    The same idea can be applied to everyday use or other apps.

    Someone mentioned that the best reason for dual monitors is so that one will used as a 'real' TV monitor. Wrong. A CRT monitor is used as a THIRD monitor to properly view the program, color correct, check titles and title safe, etc. Perhaps the person meant one computer monitor and one CRT monitor; but 2 computer monitors plus 1 CRT is standard for pros.
     
  12. tk421 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    If you're using two computer monitors (which is what I assume everybody is referring to) than this is a bad idea.

    Computer monitors don't look the same as a TV. There's no overscan, the pixel aspect ratio is different, and you're not really seeing the fields as they would appear. If you want a "real" TV monitor, buy an NTSC monitor (or PAL if you're using that). If that's too expensive, do what I did at home on my cheap system: hook up a real TV.

    Edit: theWholeTruth posted just before me and caught this as well.
     

Share This Page