dual or quad core?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ejewels52, Sep 18, 2006.

  1. ejewels52 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #1
    on my 2.66 mac pro I just ordered...is it a dual or quad core? on apples site, it says dual core Xenons...but others have said quad...which is it?
     
  2. rtdgoldfish macrumors 6502a

    rtdgoldfish

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #2
    Its got dual-dual core processors which makes it a quad. :)
     
  3. ejewels52 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
  4. nutman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
  5. panoz7 macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #5
    It has two processors (dual processor) each with two processor cores (dual core). There's a total of four processing cores, hence the quad core, and two processors, hence the dual processor. The difference between processor and core is significant.
     
  6. pastrychef macrumors 68040

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  7. Silentwave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #7
    Think of it this way

    mac pro
    aaa Logic Board
    aaa /-------- \
    aaXEONaaaaXEON
    aaa |aaaaaaa|
    aaacoreaaaaacore
    aaacoreaaaaacore
     
  8. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    That's a rather phallic way of describing things! Like everyone else has said, you're looking at 4 cores, which is a very good thing.
     

Share This Page