Dual screen with my iMac G5

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Kimi, May 1, 2006.

  1. Kimi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle, England/ Stirling Scotland
    #1
    I was cleaning out my room this morning and I found a Philips 170B6 Screen in a cupboard (I really have no idea where I go it). Any ways, I want to dual screen my iMac G5 (17" iSight) with as I've got no other use for the screen.

    I've got no idea what I need to do this, so could someone give me a hand by telling me what I need (ie, what cable I need)? Thanks.
     
  2. *Y* macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    VA
  3. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #3
    I did this myself some time ago.

    Need the 'VGA Display Adapter' cable (search the Apple.com/uk store)

    If you want to do more than just 'mirror' both screen, then you'll need this software

    ... and although it should work without a problem, this is NOT supported by Apple.
     
  4. GilGrissom macrumors 65816

    GilGrissom

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #4
    It really couldn't be easier.

    All you need is one of 2 Apple mini-DVI (that your iMac has on the back) to VGA or DVI adapter, £15 on Apple Store.

    So depending on what your monitor uses (VGA or DVI), get one of these:

    VGA Adapter

    DVI Adapter

    My friend borrowed mine from my PowerBook for his Intel iMac and loved them so brought himself one, their great little pieces of kit which just do the job, no questions asked.

    Hope this helps. :)
     
  5. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
  6. GilGrissom macrumors 65816

    GilGrissom

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #6
    My appologies, I didn't realise they were different to the Intel iMacs, but the OP does have the iSight model of iMac, could these have DVI out like the Intel iMacs do?

    If it is only VGA, then this is what you want.
     
  7. Kimi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle, England/ Stirling Scotland
    #7
    Thanks guys. I'm guessing that a plud this into the back on my iMac, then plug another cable into that to go to the screen? I looks too short to go to the screen it's self.

    I've also found out why I wasn't using the sreen, I've got no cables in the box for it. I'll dig so out from some where though so that won't be a problem.
     
  8. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
  9. GilGrissom macrumors 65816

    GilGrissom

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #9
    Yes you plug the corresponding adapter into the plug in the back.

    This adapter will then give you a normal looking interface that you will see on the back of any normal computer, then you need a normal monitor cable to connect the two together, like you would any other computer and monitor. The adapter just gives you the socket you need.

    Hope this isn't confusing!
    EDIT:
    It seems that your iMac is vga out, so make sure you get the right adapter. Mini-vga not mini-dvi.
    Thanks for the clarification.
     
  10. Kimi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle, England/ Stirling Scotland
    #10
    Thank you. I'll go and pick up the cables I need sometime with week. :)
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  12. regre7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #12
    From the separate keyboards and mice (mouses?), I'm wondering if those displays function like two unique machines, but are driven by the same iMac? I would be very interested in learning how to do that.
     
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    No, that spare keyboard and mouse was for my Power Mac in lower right corner. That monitor is a Sony GDM-F520. It was plugged in to the iMac at the time and show up in system profiler.
     
  14. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois

Share This Page