Dual Screening Mix between Powerbook & G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by AlBDamned, Sep 8, 2005.

  1. macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #1
    Since moving, I now have access to a second, 17" Sharp TFT screen when at home. I was very surprised/pleased on Sunday as when working I plugged it in to the Powerbook to see two full, separate screens (both showing Vader and his iPod). Really helped speed things along on my llayout and design project.

    Anyway, brought the 'book into work this morning to finish said project and nicked the screen from my Desktop G5. The question is, is there a way to utilise my Powerbook screen as a second screen on the G5? It doesn't seem right nicking the big computer's screen to work with the little one? Surely I can make it work the other way round?

    Is this possible at all?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    wrxguy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Location:
    Deepest Regions of Hell
    #2
    I dont think you can use your PB as a secondary screen..it dones't work like that...
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    #3
    Wasn't there a program where you could move your mouse from one computer to another?

    Ah...whats it called again....
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #4
    How would that affect using the Powerbook screen? :confused:
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    #5
    It....it dosn't, I just wanted to know I guess.....

    ......
    .
    *runs away*
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #6
    I don't know about getting the G5 video info on your PB (maybe some USB connection and software hack) but if you're okay working from the PB but just want to use the G5 monitor as the primary, you could just switch this in System Prefs>Displays on the PB so it uses the G5 monitor as a primary rather than the attached one.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #7

    Have got that far, it just struck me when opeing a large image that using two screens and a G4 Powerbook was silly when there's a hefty G5 sitting on the desk. As yet though, I'm not sure how to work it. I could have sworn I saw an 'input/output' option when messing around with the powerbook and my TV the other day...
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne

Share This Page