Dude! My PowerMac is always locking up!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by G5Unit, Sep 11, 2005.

  1. G5Unit macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #1
    Dude! My PowerMac is always locking up! It just kinda stop but you can still use the mouse. Mostly when booting up a game, watching a movie, or it just stops while opening a webpage. Whats going on? Specs in sig.
     
  2. Quartz Extreme macrumors regular

    Quartz Extreme

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Location:
    Outside of the box
    #2
    Have you modified the hardware/software in any way recently?
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    Have you installed RAM recently?

    Could it be a dying hard drive? Is your SMART status verified in Disk Utility?

    What third party apps do you have?

    What external devices do you have connected when it crashes?

    Sorry for all the questions, but hopefully we'll be able to get to the bottom of this.
     
  4. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #4
    I have a printer installed with a keyboard and stuff.

    I installed ram like 8 months ago.

    I have clear dock activated.

    I am verified.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    Try using it without the RAM, just leaving in the standard Apple RAM that came with it originally.

    Maybe uninstall Clear Dock for a while too. However do these two thing separately so we can determine if it is one or the other.

    Is it always the same apps freezing? If so, repairing permissions can't help (probably won't fix it , but worth a try) and also, deleting those app's specific preference files (end in PLIST) may solve your problem.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Oh, and what does Activity Monitor say during these freezes? Is there any way to get to it, or does the freeze require a restart/relaunch of Finder to do anything?
     
  7. Quartz Extreme macrumors regular

    Quartz Extreme

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Location:
    Outside of the box
    #7
    Possible solutions...

    Try running Activity Monitor while you're testing programs out to see if anything isn't operating correctly.

    Check error and crash logs.

    Repair permissions and file system.

    Use the terminal or a 3rd party program like OnyX to clean caches and temporary files.

    Check for an Apple firmware update. (There was one for my 1.8GHz G5 that fixed several issues.)

    You could also try an "Archive and Install" of OS X (which would replace the system files but keep your home folder and settings intact).

    Try randomly removing pieces of hardware until the problem goes away. I have found RAM in G5s to be especially fussy.
     
  8. jstock macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #8

    Guys, this is a known issue with all versions of Tiger and his model G5. Check out g5freeze.com for a start and see how Apple has been treating all owners of the SP 1.8G5. Yes it affects every one of this model they sold.

    I feel for you.
     
  9. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #9
    Dude that's exactly what happend! I leave my computer on forever and go to apple.com or open a game and it freezes!
     
  10. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    From the things you are saying, call Apple. (If you have AppleCare). And ask them for a new HD, as that is what I think is the problem. RAM, I think, is not the problem ;).

    Call Apple ;).
     
  11. jstock macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #11
    Calling Apple on this does little good. It's not a component flaw, rather a design flaw shown to involve the SMU (System Management Unit).

    People have had everything replaced and still the problem remains for them, because the SP 1.8 board design is flawed.

    I have a SP 1.8 PowerMac G5 like the original poster and it will freeze the GUI if you use Quicktime or OpenGL after around 2 hours of uptime. The only workaround is to sleep the computer before it has accumlated 2 hours of uptime, and before another 2 hours pass anytime thereafter. I do this via an Apple Script that is set to sleep every 110 minutes.

    I have a non-PowerMac that doesn't freeze with any version of Tiger. This is likely going to require either a firmware update, or complete exchange of the SP 1.8s with any other Mac. However, because is only affects this single model across the entire Mac lineup, Apple has been in no hurry to fix it and has actively censored discussion on this topic on the Apple discussion boards.

    To the original poster: Right now we have a lemon and we may have one for quite some time. Hard to say, time will tell if Apple makes us whole, or if their hand is forced by legal action eventually.
     
  12. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #12
    Ok. Now it's getting a little out of hand even more. I am having to reboot my computer at least 3 times a day. I opened upa quicktime movie at 6 o clock and Bam! Freeze. I want to call apple up right now and have them send me a rev A model!

    EDIT: What # can I call.
     

Share This Page