Dumb defrag ;(

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Josias, Dec 29, 2006.

  1. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #1
    I have had bootcamp on my MB before. Back then I had 21 GB left, and tried to create an 8 GB partition, but it would only create partitions up to 7 GB. It said some files could not be moved.

    Now I have 18 GB left, and want to install windows again, but now it says the same thing again, even when I try to create a 5 GB partition. What's wrong?:confused:
     
  2. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #2
    It sounds like your disk is fragmented just enough so that there is no 5 GB space that is free of any file. I'm not sure how to defrag a mac hard drive though. At least you are looking for a solution, I probably would have become frustrated too quickly and just re-installed OSX and then Bootcamp.
     
  3. Josias thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #3
    God I hate everyone!:mad:

    :p

    There is no free defrag tool for OS X. My parents aren't home, so I can't buy one, and screw the people who wants $30 for a tiny defrag app. I'm sure they're good, but no way, I just wanna install bootcamp...

    Any tricks, and no, I can't re-install, I don't have an external HDD.
     
  4. Josias thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #4
    Samn I'm screwed. I need bootcamp installed by tomorrow. I'm going ot a friend and installing some games. He's areal PC guy, so when he finds out I couldn't install Windows, I'm as dead a a gay ferriswheel on Marc:eek:

    No, I really need someway to defrag my disk for free, I don't care if it is an application, a terminal command, an Apple script, I just wanna defrag. Please help!:(
     
  5. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    You don't need an external HDD, use your 10.4 disks (came with your mac) and choose archive and install. I had to do it after deleting vista for XP.
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    There is no way to defrag from the Terminal in Tiger (or pre).

    You have only 2 options in this case.
    1) iDefrag or some other defragging tool. I'm not even sure that will work well enough to create enough contiguous blocks for BC to work.
    2) clone/erase/clone/install BC.
     
  7. Josias thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #7
    I dunno if it will defrag my drive to archice and install.

    iDefrag can't even defrag my bootdrive so forget about that.

    I got this thing called Drive Genius, yet whenever I select the volume "MacBook", I can't press the defragment button.
     
  8. hotboiled macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #8
    view your fragmantation

    OOOppppss
    look out !!

    QUOTE from versiontracker
     
  9. Josias thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #9
    Thank you very much, but I tried that. I got the little thing, but it simply won't work. I downloaded that debug file, and now the SVF won't launch. What am I doing wrong?

    BTW, I spent the last 3 hours on google, I tried pretty much everything.:p
     
  10. thebeephaha macrumors 6502

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle WA
  11. Josias thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #11
    My MB is fine after 3 reboots. You just have to delete everyhing from that SVF.

    I know you can use the idefrag boot cd, but I don't have it, and I just dropped the installation of Windows. I don't expect Apple to be perfect, but I had kinda expected they thought of such a situation when they created Bootcamp.:)
     
  12. alaibubu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #12
    Can't you just backup all your important files on dvd, format hd, install os x then install boot camp. I think formating should take care of the fragmentation.
     
  13. Josias thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #13
    Well, I have 21 GB of stuff, all of which I want to keep, so DVD's are out of the question. If I had an external HD, sure, but now; no way!
     
  14. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    Remember, BC is a beta. It's not perfect.

    Well, you only have 1 option.. get an external HD and clone your data to it. Wipe boot drive. Clone data back.
     
  15. Josias thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #15
    Ahh, the joy of Parallels.:D
     
  16. JD92 macrumors 6502a

    JD92

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #16
    It wouldn't take THAT many DVDs, actually it would take about 5 if I worked it out right. DVDs are pretty cheap nowadays anyway.

    No iPod to back some stuff up to?
     

Share This Page