Dumb ram question

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by lazyboy922, Feb 8, 2004.

  1. lazyboy922 macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #1
    I just installed a 512 stick or ram from crucial into my powerbook, putting me up to 768. I was wondering if i could take out the stock apple 256 chip and replace it with another 512 stick from crucial? or is that one permanatly installed in the other slot?
    thanks!
     
  2. bubbamac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    #2
    Not a dumb question.

    Yes, you can. In fact, I just did so. I can't tell any difference speed wise, but my PB does seem more stable with lots of apps open. I usually have 16-18 open at once.

    That lower RAM chip is a little tougher than the upper one to get out and in, at least it was on my 667.
     
  3. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #3
    yeah u can, just remove the upper ram then proceed to the lower ram, its a bit tougher to remove, but its doable
     
  4. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #4
    I'm guessing lazyboy922 has a 12" PB and therefore can't remove the built-in ram stick.
     
  5. lazyboy922 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #5
    OH i guess i should have specified. I have a 15 inch powerbook, and just didn't know if the stock ram could be removed. Thanks
     
  6. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #6
    woops, my bad. ok lazyboy922, what the others said is correct, you can remove and replace the stock ram. :)
     
  7. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #7
    Unless you already have that second 512MB chip, you can buy it for $55 (after rebate) here.

    That is of course assuming that you have the aluminum 15 inch, not the titanium.

    Is the RAM in the Aluminum hard to remove? I'll be getting my 2x512 chips in a few days, and am hoping it's not much trouble.

    BTW, will 2x512MB run hotter than 2x256MB? If you know for sure, please PM me, as I don't want to hijack this thread. Thanks!
     
  8. Bilba macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    #8
    Are you sure about this specific chip?
    When you go through Kingston system selector it points at other 512mb moudle:
    KTA-PBG4333/512 which is now on sale for 129$.
     

Share This Page