dumb safari plug-in problems

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by regan2, May 23, 2006.

  1. regan2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    hyde park, ny
    #1
    specifically concerning windows media player.

    on a new macbook pro, i cannot get windows media player plug-in installed in safari. i have windows media player 9 installed on the drive, but it's never installed it as a plug-in in safari. for instance, i go to a page with windows media content and instead of just playing it, it gives me a dialog box saying it can't play the media, but windows media player can. if i say ok, it opens it up in windows media player.

    it's annoying and i'm stumped. i'm desperately waiting for flip4mac to be available as a universal.

    also, when i visit cnn.com and click on their videos, it tells me that windows media player is not installed.

    help appreciated.
     
  2. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #2
    Microsoft no longer supports WMP for Mac.
    Flip 4 Mac has the MS licence to develop WM drivers for QT, which will work with Safari. Apple is the

    CNN will always give you that prompt, as well as others, as their streaming media pages are not coded to detect if you have the plug-ins, or what OS your using.
     
  3. regan2 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    hyde park, ny
    #3
    I understand that they no longer are creating standalone players... but how does that explain why a previous version #9 is no longer functioning as a safari plug-in?

    My reasoning is this, it worked on my g5, why all of the sudden is it not working now?

    As for the CNN website, it does detect if windows media player is installed and it says mine is not. This did not happen on my g5, as it did detect it then and would play the video as is. So what's different?

    What are other intel mac users doing?

    edit: here's a screenshot of the cnn page telling me i don't have the player and giving me a link to the player. which i've downloaded and installed numerous times with no success. standalone works fine, no plug-in.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. regan2 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    hyde park, ny
    #4
    also, QT and real player both run well in safari...
     
  5. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #5
    Both those you listed are universal. None of the windows media players are. Hence, you cannot play them with the plugin because it's a ppc plugin and not an intel plugin.
     
  6. regan2 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    hyde park, ny
    #6
    ok, just assumed rosetta would step in.

    bummer.

     
  7. divadmojo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    #7
    Flip 4 Mac

    Get Flip 4 Mac and all your problems should be solved. Flip offers option to have embeded web files (wmv) paly using Flip4Mac plugin and for me it works great. Also, I have noticed that sometimes a file may have the ext: mpg, but will not play with Quicktime and it is not being opened with Flip4mac. In this case, I usually try VLC and VLC will give an error message saying the file is something like wmv3 file. The file may play audio in players like VLC and mPlayer. The solution is to change the extension from "mpg" to "wmv". Now you can play the file with Quicktime using Flip4Mac by simply double clicking, or you can "open with" Windows Media Player on PPC Macs if you prefer. I don't find many reasons to ever use Windows Media Player because QT offers so many advantages like FF scrolling and the ability to save file.
     
  8. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #8
    I'm sorry, have you even read this thread?

    The Flip4Mac plugin for QuickTime is for PPC which is why you need to run apps in Rosetta to take advantage of it. Until you find some way to get the plugin to be translated appropriately (I assume your problem will be solved by running Safari or your browser of choice in Rosetta), or until a universal version comes out, you cannot play embedded wmv files in your browser.
     
  9. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #9
    They have the exclusive rights to develop WM video codecs for OS X now. MicroSoft has washed there hands of the os and are still makeing money. I hope that the company can make money with their product, so that they stay afloat and can continue to provide the Mac community with a connection to the majority of proprietary MS media.

    This dosn't solve anybodies problem in the short term, but I think it will give some hope.

    Contact their support here.

    [EDIT]I would like to remind people that there are basically 2 different versions of OSX out there. So it is likely that many people will not be aware of Intel specific needs, and with the best of intent offer "shure fire help". It's easy to offer advice that you know will work, with out really understanding the threads intent- even if it is boldly stated. Anybody remember the transition from OS 9 to 10?
     
  10. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #10
    Yes, I'm aware of that, however, saying that out of the blue after the entire thread so far is about why the plugins do not work, shrug. Feels like the person wasn't even paying much attention to the thread and just figured it would be answered simply with whatever default answer. Shrug. Just a pet peeve.
     
  11. regan2 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    hyde park, ny
    #11
    i'm glad it bothers someone else too. ;)

    it's like everything that was said before didn't matter...

    but to the original problem, it seems weird that rosetta will run the standalone player, but not the plug-in. i understand that the OS is different, but it just seems weird that all the work was done for rosetta to work with standalone, but that safari plugins were forgotten.

    final question... anyway to tell safari to stop with the dialog boxes telling me that it cannot open the media, but the standalone might?
     

Share This Page