Dumb terminal?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by MrVegas, Jun 21, 2005.

  1. MrVegas macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, Md.
    #1
    My new G5 Powermac is in my living room. It is connected to a home network router, which is located in the basement. Right now I have a POS PC in the basement. Is there any way to set up a monitor/keyboard/mouse "terminal" in the basement to access the Powermac upstairs without buying another Mac?
     
  2. Veldek macrumors 68000

    Veldek

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    Not sure if you mean this, but there's a Remote Desktop Client from Microsoft which you can use on a PC to remotely control a Mac. It's a free download from the Microsoft website IIRC.

    Edit: Wrong info! See robbieduncan's response.
     
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Depends what you want (and what you are willing to install on the PC). If you are willing to have a kind of screen sharing then VNC would let you remote control the Mac from the PC. This pretty much limits the setup to one user as they Mac screen will be under control of the PC. You can get command line access to the Mac via ssh which allows true multi-user access, but no GUI programs (unless you are using Unix programs running under X11).
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Wrong way round. RDC lets you connect to a Windows machine from your Mac and control it. The client (for Mac) is free but you need to be running Terminal Services or Remote Desktop Services on the PC (which may or may not be free, I think the latter might be included with Win XP Pro).
     
  5. Veldek macrumors 68000

    Veldek

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    Sorry, you're right. Got it messed up.
     
  6. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    You can't do what you want to do with a dumb terminal. If you want GUI access to your Mac from your Windows computers, the solution has been available for more than a decade. It is called Timbuktu Pro from Netopia.
     

Share This Page