DV cam

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by tribal, Nov 13, 2006.

  1. tribal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #1
    Hi,i got this canon dv cam.I had capture my holidays trip @ Japan and i wanted to burn into DVD.How do i go about to transfer the clips from the tape into my macbook?I had plug the wire to my mac but it seems like nothing had been detech.Was there any software inbuild in the MB for me to transfer the clips?Please advise.
     
  2. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #2
    I'm guessing that you might be trying to use the USB port. The USB port when offered on DV cameras are for transferring stills or using as a webcam. You must use the firewire port, typically connecting a 4 pin on the camera to the six pin on your macbook. Then open iMovie, and import the clips.
     
  3. tribal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #3
    I did attach the wire to the port next to the 2 usb port.but when i open up the imoviehd,i dun't know how to import the clips.can u advise me please as i'm new to this.
     
  4. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #4
    Thats a Firewire cable? Right?

    Start your camera in Playback mode and open iMovie, you should then be able to record from your camera into iMovie, as long as its a firewire cable your using, not USB
     
  5. tribal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #5
    yes.that is a firewall cable.i will try the way u advise.and also thanks for yr advise.:)
     
  6. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #6
    No Problem. It should work, thats how I do mine.
     
  7. tribal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #7
    by the way,for the imovie that come with the MB,do i need o register it or it's already a full version?
     
  8. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #8
    Nope, the version that ships with all Apple Hardware is the full version.
     
  9. tribal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #9
    ok.thanks
     
  10. rdhmario3suit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    #10
    You need to set the camcorder to "play" mode by the way...and have it turned on. Just checking...
     

Share This Page